Families logo

Aunt Silva's Diary

A little mysterious black book.

By Ricky BrownPublished 3 years ago 6 min read

"Services for Silva B. Hilton, 91, a lifelong resident of Anderson County, will be at 1 p.m. Saturday at Mound Perry Baptist Church with the Rev. Lonnie Joe Doyle officiating. Burial will be at The Barrett Family Cemetery under the direction of Bushy Creek Funeral Home.

Mrs. Hilton died Monday after a long illness.

She was born Feb. 29, 1896, a daughter of Walker and Pink Furlough Barrett. She was a member of the Mount Lilly Chapter No. 65 O.E.S for many years.

Survivors are a sister, Cher Ree Carter of Palestine; and many nieces and nephews.

The family will receive visitors from 8 to 9 p.m. today at the funeral home."

Ella Mae Barrett couldn't believe her eyes as she scanned the death notice section of her local newspaper. It was Friday, Oct. 2 of eighty-seven, and nobody stopped by or even bothered to call and tell her nothing! She just couldn't hold back her tears, pondering on the reality of her favorite person laid up in a casket.

Slapping the paper on the countertop, she ran to the closet and found something to wear. It was already seven O'Clock and Ella wasn't near ready. She took a look in the mirror on her way out the front door and smiled. Ella knew her creme stocking would compliment her legs in her off-white knee-high skirt and fitted blazer over her gold blouse. Her hair was pinned in a loose bun, and she decided on the pearl earrings and matching necklace her aunt Silva gave her as a birthday gift last year. She applied red lipstick and walked out the door.

Ella turned on her bright lights, straightening her 87' Lincoln Towncar onto the dirt paved road. She could see a wooden arrow sign barely sticking out the woods that read Bushy Creek Funeral Home this way. Cars lined both sides of the road, as she made her way to the front of the building. Once inside, people were everywhere, sitting around mourning or inline signing the guest book.

She noticed her aunt Cher Ree, and her ten adult children making up the first two rows. Her other first cousins sat immediately behind them on the third and fourth rows. Looking back, Othelia smiled at Ella and waved her over. Ella smiled back weakly. She was hesitant to take her cousin's offer, feeling like an outcast as she made her way to the family section.

Ella knew her aunt Cher Ree was the one behind keeping her uninformed. On more than one occasion she reminded Ella that her father, Ed was only their half-brother, which made Ella less than half her niece. Ella didn't let the ill thoughts bother her as she walked in front of Cher Ree to view her aunt Silva's body.

After the viewing, Ella mingled with distant family members who she hadn't seen in years. The next day the reading of the will was to take place, immediately following the funeral. Silva survived her spouse and never had any children, so everyone was anxious to know what would happen to her estate.

The next day everyone met up at Cher Ree's house to pray. Silva and Cher Ree lived next door to each other in the country on the family land. Everyone had on black suits and dresses. Ella's long frizzy brown hair was pinned on one side and hanging on the other. The wind blew the free-hanging hair against her charcoal skin as Ella followed a strutting Cher Ree to the family car.

"Excuse me, girl, what do you think you are doing?" Cher Ree turned quickly blocking the car entrance.

"With all due respect, Auntie!" Ella waved her hands defensively, ready to take it there."Silva B. Hilton was my father's sister too an-"

"HALF!" You could see the disgust on Cher Ree's, now red, light-skinned face as she stomped around, cutting her niece off, in a tantrum.

"and I think I'm about to ride in the FAMILY car with my FAMILY!" Ella pointed. Emphasizing family, knowing Cher Ree disclaimed her father, Ed, a long time ago.

"You!"- Cher Ree thought about calling Ella out of her name but contained herself.- "You will ride in the other family car with my other nieces and nephews." Cher Ree pointed to the matching limousine behind them, emphasizing the word other.

The funeral service was long and sad. Othelia and Ella were still crying in the pastoral office while everyone waited on aunt Silva's lawyer to begin the reading of the will.

Bob Nelson was a long-time family friend and the family's lawyer. Bob was the Power of Attorney for Silva. He was the first black person the Barretts knew to complete law school or even college for that matter. Silva trusted him with her life affairs, especially since her father was the one who sent Bob to college many years ago.

"Good Evening everyone, very good to see you, Cher Ree," Bob said, walking to the open chair, in his hand, a little old black book.

Everyone ceased from their mourning and provided their full attention to Bob's every move.

"Now, I just want to say that I am terribly sorry for yall's loss, Silva was like a sister to me," Bob said. Opening the black book, retrieving a folded piece of paper.

"Thank you" LaVerne, Cher Ree's daughter waved him on.

Ella sat silent, still hugging Othelia.

"Silva left her will in the form of a letter, so I shall begin,

'Dear family, if you or Brother Nelson is reading this, unfortunately, I have gone on to be with my Lord. The executor of my estate shall be no other than my power of attorney, Bob Nelson. This is my last will and testament, my love for you all remains but nevertheless, these are my wishes.

To my baby sister Cher Ree, I leave my homestead and to her children, I leave the undivided fifty acres my home sits on.

My sister Lilly Ann's Children; Julian Barrett my eldest nephew I leave you all of the savings in my Royall Bank savings account, James Barrett I'll miss your smiling face and to you, I leave my coin collection, Marion Barrett my baby nephew I leave with you, all of the cash money in my Royall Bank checking account and Lilith Barrett-Gateway my niece I leave you all of my personal possessions in my Royall Bank safe deposit box.

My sister Consuela's Children; Othelia Barrett my niece I leave my rental properties in Palestine, Texas, and any rent due on the properties, To my niece Cora B. Shieysty I leave a trust fund in her name for her personal use.

My dearest niece Ella Mae Barrett, I know this is hard on you, love, be strong, keep your head up and make my brother and me proud. To you, I leave the stock certificates from Hopewell Union Oil Company, worth 100 stock, located in the back of my diary. To you, I also leave my oil-producing property called grove out of Rice county, Kansas, the deed located in the back of my diary, actually to you I leave my entire diary.'

Bob looked up as he folded the letter back.

"Well Ella, I think this belongs to you." Bob smiled. Referring to the little old black book. " This was Silva's diary, in it, you will find instructions on how to collect the royalty payments on the Grove property."

Ella gave Bob a blank stare, grabbing the diary. Cher Ree looked back and forth from Bob to Ella.

"Ella must I inform you, the royalty payments are no less than twenty-thousand every quarter, and the stock dates back to the early twenties, estimated at a value of one-hundred-fifty-thousand American dollars," Bob said excitedly.

"Oh, my" Ella exclaimed. "Well, Mr. Nelson we shall meet first thing in the morning to discuss the transfer of the property and your compensation." Ella placed the little black book under her left arm, gripping her handbag and keys with the right hand and pacing out the office quickly.

Cher Ree fainted. Everyone huddled around her to see about her. Ella was now very wealthy thanks to the one aunt that always accepted her.

grief

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    RBWritten by Ricky Brown

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.