Families logo

Another rainy day

The lingering memory of a beautiful life

By Alan JohnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
First Place in Dream Date Challenge
80

The rain landed with a pitter patter against the window panes. Sam drew the curtains back and tied the chord into place, looking over at Barbara. She sat in her wheelchair, facing the window. Her head drooped forward, and her hands folded neatly over the blanket in her lap. Sam hoped to slip out without disturbing the old woman but she blinked and looked over at him.

“Oh, you’re going already dear? It must be getting late.” Barbara yawned and looked at the falling rain again.

“Yes, Barbara, I was going to head out and let you get some rest.”

“Oh I don’t need rest. I’ve got a date tonight you know. I need to make sure I’m ready in time. I can’t have Johnny Smyth seeing me like this.” Barbara smiled widely. “Imagine, the handsomest boy in school taking me out for a date. Oh, Johnny. I made him ask me four times before I said yes, you know.”

“Yes, Barbara, I know.” Sam sighed and smiled sadly, wheeling Barbara’s chair over to the vanity. She sat looking at herself, not moving. In her head she was probably putting on makeup or primping her hair, but to Sam and anyone else who would’ve looked she was simply staring at herself. There was a lot about Barbara the average observer wouldn’t know. She and Johnny dated in high school and broke up when they went to college, but reconnected later in life. They were married for forty odd years before he passed. They’d had a few children and many grandchildren, though now they were all grown and living out their own lives. Barbara’s oldest daughter Betty still visited regularly and spent a lot of time around her mother, but everytime it was like Barbara was meeting her for the first time and everytime it broke Sam’s heart. That wasn’t a good sign for someone in his line of work but his own mother told him a soft heart was the key to a full life. Sam smiled thinking about it as he wheeled Barbara back to the window. His mother’s confidence in him was enough.

“I hope I’m not keeping you, dear,” Barbara muttered. “I’m sure a handsome young man like you has plenty of pretty girls to call on, you don’t need to worry about me. Besides, Johnny will be along soon in his new car. He’s taking me to the movies, you know.”

“Yes, Barbara. Why don’t I stay with you until Johnny gets here?”

“Well, alright, so long as it’s truly not a burden on you. I don’t want to be a burden… It’s just like Johnny to be late.” She chuckled to herself. “You remind me of Johnny a little. Not that you’d ever be late. I’m sure you’re nothing but punctual!” She chuckled again, an old, tender laugh. “When Johnny did finally show up he was always the last to leave. He was so good at looking after people.” Barbara sighed. The rain had stopped, and the sun was coming out a little bit. “Is your friend coming by again today?”

“No, Barbara, today's Tuesday.”

“Oh, that’s right. It is Tuesday. What’s your friend’s name again?”

“Betty, it’s Betty.”

“Betty. That’s a very pretty name.”

“It certainly is, Barbara.”

“Her mother knew what she was doing.” Sam couldn’t help smiling, though he knew it was a sad thing. “Oh, look, the rain has stopped. How nice. Do you have any plans later, Sam?”

“No, nothing much.” He lied. He was going out with some friends when his shift ended, but she didn’t need to know about his personal life. He just had to make sure she was as comfortable as possible.

“Would you mind turning on the tv? I can’t believe it, I’ve lost the remote again.” Sam pushed her over to the television and turned it on. “Thank you dear.” She sighed, leaning her head forward a little bit. “I don’t know why I’m so tired.” She said with a yawn. “All I had was one glass of merlot with dinner.” Sam mouthed the words with her. They’d had this conversation every so often, the lingering memory of the second first date with Johnny Smyth. Their life was a true love story, something that a part of Sam still hoped was in store for him. Maybe he was getting a little old for fairytales, and maybe things like this didn’t happen anymore. He checked his watch to make sure Barbara got her pills on time. His shift was almost up.

humanity
80

About the Creator

Alan John

I'm a Virginia based writer/musician looking to find my place in this wild wild world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.