Families logo

An Incredible Nurse, an Even Better Mum

A note from a nurses daughter

By Em WhitehousePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
p.s. Dont hate me for putting photos of you in this, you're beautiful

My beautiful mum, the one who puts everything and everyone in front of herself, the woman who would do anything for her two babies.

I am writing this, not only to acknowledge what an incredible and hardworking woman you are but, to show what an amazing role model you have been to the luckiest two girls. I can't imagine it was easy trying to juggle such a fast-paced job with looking after two little ones, and even now I know you'll be there trying to care and save everybody possible but, just know I become more and more prouder of you every day.

I want to say never feel guilty for being a nurse and a mother at the same time and want to thank you for all the scarifies you have made. Even though I did complain that you would drop me at breakfast club super early and having already fed me but, it was acts like these that made me realise you were looking after me as best as you possibly could. I also remember you feeling bad or worried that I had to walk home from school as soon as I was old enough or had to meet you at work but, I want you to know that I never thought bad of you because I know I'm loved more than anything and, people at that time needed you more than I did.

I know your long shifts are exhausting and I will be forever grateful that you magically found the energy when home to still nurture and take care of me. You spend your days now reassuring me that I'm okay and make me feel safe, even when you did pull nails form my feet. It is the acts like this that made me understand why nursing is who you are and rightly so, as I could think of an endless amount of people who would agree. Through the hard times you have faced you still never failed to astound anybody around who with your talent for it and even came out stronger and better although, I thought it was impossible for you to get better at what you do.

Out of everything that you have taught me, the biggest message that stands out, is that with dedication you can achieve anything. You have never questioned any decision I have wanted to make and supported me through every academic and personal decision.

I want to say thank you for always pushing your needs aside to ensure you were there for us. The countless times I have rang you upset or worried, you have never failed to drop everything to talk me through any problems or provided me with a safe place to escape.

I want to thank for never expressing how you truly felt when I was younger and demanding the newest baby, I know money doesn't grow on trees now but, somehow you made everything I wished for appear. Also when I was younger I'd like to thank you for how strong you made me. To this day I believe I shouldn't play the victim or cry to much when I get hurt physically or emotionally. I think I best showed this when I 'hurt' my knee...still have the scare to prove it to this day.

Growing up, I know you also had it tough (even though you wont admit it) but, also had the greatest role model to reflect off. Well, the last thing I want to point out, is that every great aspect I see in Nana, I see 100x more in you. Sometimes you say she wouldn't be happy with some choices you make now without her around but, I want to reassure you that she would be just as proud as we are of you! So, please, never stop being you. Although the world right now seems scary, its people like you who try to spread positivity and restore everyone's hope and I know you're out there right now doing the best you possibly can!

Here's to you mum, you're the greatest woman I'll ever know.

Love Always,

the little one x

parents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.