Families logo

An English Love Story: Bonded by Literature

A Tale of Two Bookworms Who Found Love in the Pages of English Literature

By mohammed iguelimPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like
An English Love Story: Bonded by Literature
Photo by Filipe Almeida on Unsplash

English Love Story

Story of English Love

The day Jane first saw Alex was a hot summer day. He was reading a novel on a seat when she noticed him while strolling through the park with her closest companion, Lily. Jane felt compelled to speak to him because of her attraction to him.

Her pulse was pounding as she walked toward him. From his book, Alex glanced up and grinned at her. They started talking after she introduced herself and about the novel he was reading. It turned out that they both enjoyed great books.

Jane and Alex became inseparable after that day. Hours were passed discussing their best novels, exchanging goals and ambitions, and taking walks around the city.

As their relationship got closer, Jane became aware that she was falling for Alex. She made an effort to suppress her emotions, but they only got stronger as time went on. She knew she had to express her feelings to him.

One night, as they were gazing at the stars while sitting on the top of Alex's apartment building, Jane eventually worked up the confidence to declare her love. She expressed to Alex her admiration for him, her affection for him, and how he had grown to be her closest companion.

Although Alex was taken aback by Jane's admission, he didn't share her astonishment. He apologized for possibly giving Jane the incorrect idea and clarified that he only saw her as a friend.

Despite being devastated, Jane didn't want to loose Alex as a companion. They carried on hanging out and conversing, but their relationship was never quite the same.

Months passed as Jane made every effort to let go of her misplaced affection for Alex. Although she met other men, none of them could match him. She couldn't help but wonder if one day he would perceive her differently.

One day, Jane noticed Alex seated on the same bench where they had first met while she was strolling through the park. Despite the fact that they hadn't spoken in a while, she chose to say greeting.

As they conversed, Jane was shocked when Alex revealed that he had discovered something about his emotions for her. He admitted that despite his fear, he had been in love with her all along.

When Jane heard this, she was ecstatic, and they kissed passionately on the seat. The two of them became a relationship on that day.

They made many joyful moments together as their affection grew over the years. In front of their friends and family, they were united in marriage during a lovely service. They were thankful for every second they had together because they knew they had discovered genuine love in one another.

Looking back on their relationship, Jane and Alex realized that meeting that day in the park was destiny. They were appreciative of each other's companionship, affection, and English love tale.

Conversation:

Jane: What are you reading, Alex?

Alex: Just a great book, Jane. I'm a huge admirer of 19th-century writing.

Jane: I concur! You may have read Jane Eyre.

Alex: It's undoubtedly one of my faves. Who are you?

Jane: It's fantastic! Pride and Prejudice and Wuthering Heights are two other books I adore.

Alex: They are excellent works. Finding someone who enjoys great books as much as we do is so uncommon.

It's one of my favorite aspects of our relationship, Jane.

Regarding our relationship, Jane, I had something I wanted to discuss with you.

Sure, tell me—what's on your mind?

I've been considering how much you mean to me, Alex. I count you among my dearest pals, and I'm grateful for all you've done for me.

Jane: Wow, Alex, that's really nice. I value you highly as well.

Alex: Jane, I just wanted you to know how much I appreciate our friendship. I place a lot of importance on it.

Jane: Alex, I share your sentiments. One of the most significant persons in my existence is you.

Alex: Okay. We need to be on the same path, so I just wanted to check. Nothing should ever come between us, in my opinion.

Of course not, Jane. We'll remain close, Alex.

I'm happy to hear that, Alex. Let's return to discussing books now. What is your all-time best novel, Jane?

Jane: That's a difficult question. I believe I must choose To Kill a Mockingbird. There's a reason it's a masterpiece.

That's a fantastic decision, Alex. I also adore the ethical and justice concepts in that novel.

Jane: Certainly. Readers today are still drawn to this classic tale.

Jane and I could chat about literature for hours, in my opinion, Alex. It's uncommon to meet someone who appreciates books as much as I do.

I understand what you mean, Jane. It's one of the aspects of our relationship that I also adore.

Funny, Jane, I feel like I can tell you anything, says Alex. We are so closely knit together.

Jane: I agree with you, Alex. I think we fully comprehend one another.

Alex: Jane, I'm pleased to hear that. One of the most significant persons in my existence is you.

Jane: Alex, I count you among the most significant individuals in my life as well.

Alex and Jane kept talking about literature, movies, and living in general as the night went on. They discussed their aspirations and goals, as well as their worries and anxieties, and everything in between. Even though they had only known each other for a short while, the discussion felt effortless and casual.

Alex led Jane back to her apartment as the evening drew to a close. They were hesitant to say farewell as they stood outside her door.

Jane: Alex, I had a wonderful time tonight. I appreciate you welcoming me.

Alex: No, I appreciate you coming. I always look forward to seeing you, Jane.

I agree, Jane, Alex. We seem to have a really unique link, you know.

Alex: I share your sentiments, Jane. I don't want to hurry matters, but I simply must confess that I feel something for you.

(Surprised) Jane: Really? I was clueless.

Despite the fact that we have only recently become acquaintances, Alex says, "I can't deny how I feel." You're attractive, amusing, and clever.I feel as though I have spent my entire existence looking for someone like you.

Jane: That's really nice of you, Alex. And I have to confess, I have experienced some feelings as well.

Alex: You have, I trust.

Jane: I agree (nodding). Though I'm happy you did, I wasn't sure if I should say anything. I believe we could create something truly unique.

Alex: (giggling) I concur, Jane. What then should we do?

Let's handle it one day at a time, Alex, Jane says (taking his hand). Let's see how this develops.

Jane, I'm all in, Alex says (squeezing her palm). Let's make this a classic tale of English love.

Jane: I think it sounds fine.

And so the adventure of Alex and Jane as a pair started. With each passing day, they learned more and more about one another as they negotiated the ups and downs of a new relationship. They remained close because of their shared passion of books, talking about everything from Shakespeare to Harry Potter. Most significantly, as each day passed, their affection for one another grew stronger.

Years later, Jane was proposed to by Alex in front of Shakespeare's Globe Theatre on a bright London day. She of course said yes, and they later had a lovely ceremony in the English countryside with all of their loved ones present.

I'm so happy we made this an English love tale, Alex said in Jane's ear as they danced their first dance as husband and wife.

With their affection for one another and the books that had brought them together, they then carried on their voyage together.

married
Like

About the Creator

mohammed iguelim

Iguelim is a talented young writer who was born on 2001 in Morocco. From a very young age, Iguelim had a passion for storytelling and creative writing, which continued to grow throughout their childhood and teenage years.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.