Families logo

A Superhero A Warrior A Mother

The life of my mother and the lessons she taught me

By Olivia DellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Superhero A Warrior A Mother
Photo by guille pozzi on Unsplash

My mother, like many mothers, was probably one of the best mothers anyone could ever ask for. She loved with all her heart, fought with all her strength, worked tirelessly, and was probably one of the smartest people I knew. She also gave me and my sister a pretty great life that we may not have had if her and my dad hadn't adopted us. She unfortunately passed away about three months ago and I know I'm always going to miss my mom and even more love her with all my heart. But that's not what I'm here to talk about today. Today I'm here to talk about all the great things my mom taught me. But there are quite a few things that have been passed down to me from my knowledgeable mother so instead of rambling on into endless sentences and lengthy paragraphs, I have decided it would probably be easier to compile them all into a simple list if that's alright to those who may be reading this:

1. Never drink milk or consume any other dairy products while you're sick because it's terrible for your congestion.

2. If you put mayonnaise on a paper towel and wipe it on plant leaves it makes them even shinier (and honestly who doesn't love the beautiful shiny leaves of even more beautiful plants?).

3. If you make a mistake always own up to it.

4. As I grow up to become a woman it's important to have a good group of female friends.

5. Never use a rubber band to tie my hair back because it can really damage my hair.

6. It's important to follow your passion and do what you love.

7. Remember that just because someone says something negative about you doesn't mean that it's true.

8. Just because I'm different that's not a bad thing it just means that I'm unique.

9. That it's important to always talk about my feelings instead of keeping them bottled up inside.

10. That she will always love me no matter what and that she will always support me.

And referring to that last one, that's exactly what she did every day every time, without fail. She loved me and the rest of our family with all of her heart. She supported me in all my hopes and dreams, goals and aspirations. She was there for me when I was sick, or upset. Ready to give me hot soup and comforting hugs whenever I needed it. I remember the last time she saw me sketching at the table in the breakfast nook I swear she smiled from ear to ear and she got so excited claiming how happy she was to see me drawing considering that was one of my many passions. And with my passion of writing she absolutely loved my stories and even printed them out so she could hold onto them and share them with the rest of the family.

My mom took care of us, loved us, and supported us. She looked after us as best she could. Although our family had our struggles and went through hardships like many families do, she had always tried her best. That’s what was most important I think. Knowing that although my mother wasn’t perfect, she did try her best. And above all she never stopped loving me no matter what. I don’t know about you but I think that’s what matters most. A mother’s love you know? And even though she’s gone and I can no longer come to her for advice, I will always remember the things that she taught me and most of all I will always remember that she loved me. And I of course have always loved her and will continue to do so for the rest of my life.

For Karen, a superhero, a warrior, a mother.

End

parents
Like

About the Creator

Olivia Dell

Hello everyone! My name is Olivia but everyone calls me Bonez. I'm currently 24 years old and I live in Oklahoma but originally from Los Angeles. Writing is one of my biggest passions and I hope you enjoy my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.