Families logo

A small token for your loss

Parents who have lost their children to violence

By T. CoxPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
One of my creations

My dream is to use t-shirts I make to encourage nonviolence. I am working on learning how to make memory bracelets and dog tags for parents who have lost children to violence. I want to build a nonprofit that will give parents a way to remember their children that have lost their lives too early. I want to print t-shirts that give inspiration. I am learning how to do that now. If I had the money to build my brand I would use it not only to print t-shirts,make memory bracelets, and dog tags but to help employ young teenagers so that they could see the impact that a memory bracelet or dog tags gives a parent. I would ask for volunteers from the parents that are impacted to spread the word on a positive way to give back to the community. This special group of parents is growing and I hope by giving back and encouraging kids to participate they can see that violence is not the answer. I could buy the equipment, hundreds of t-shirts, and jewelry making supplies. I would also be able to pay for the shipping and handling for parents that are not local. I know this seems like a small token but they would know they are not alone and that people care that they lost their child. I would use some of the money to recruit additional businesses to donate supplies or funds to this important cause because a parent should not bury their child.

I remember when I was a child we never heard of children dying from gun violence. Now it is so common it is almost a daily occurrence. It is so sad to see a young life being taken for no reason at all. Most people use to fight to settle their differences but now they just pull a trigger.

Usually parents have momentos to remind them of their child. It could be pictures, a toy, or a piece of jewelry. I would like to create something special for them that is unexpected. A memory bracelet or dog tags. The shirts that encourage non violence would be bright colors or have bright colors on them. They could be short sleeves or long sleeves. They would encourage a bright future and to dream big. To use their intelligence to help the word not destroy it. We have so many young people that could make a difference that I believe this could bring about change. Some parents are doing the best they can and trying to keep their children from falling in with the wrong group but they can’t be with them 24/7. Although kids need a positive and firm foundation to grow, sometimes outside help is needed. This does not mean the parent has failed, it means that the child needs extra love. We want that child to know they can settle their differences by talking and using their heads, not their fists. When most people receive a gift the giver and receiver both smile. That is what I want to see and be a part of. We can be the change we want.

When I lost my brother to a drunk driver, the emptiness I felt could not be filled up. I know my mother was devastated. I never wanted to feel that way again. I understood how so many people felt when the police knocked on their door and delivered that news. I had so many wonderful memories, but I wanted more time with my brother. If someone had given me a bracelet or dog tags I would have worn them faithfully. I would have paid extra for a set for my mom or vice versa. My mom would have known that someone was thinking about her. Because when it happens you are so alone, no matter if you are surrounded by family. My brother and I were so close. He was my big brother. My brother was the glue for all of us. I thank God for the time I had with him. But this is why I want to help other people.

parents
Like

About the Creator

T. Cox

I've been writing for years off and on poetry, fiction, and romance stories. I've decided it's now or never. You have to put your toes in the water to know the temperature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.