Families logo

A Small Moment in my life that had a big Impact

A True story of my life

By Azra YasmeenPublished about a year ago 3 min read
A Real small Moment with a big Impact in my life

This is fact of life that we all encounter significant moments in our lives, but there are some experiences that have the power to completely shift our perspective. As I transitioned into adulthood, I began to notice immense pressure placed on newly married couples to have a son. Despite my personal beliefs, I found it challenging to speak out against this societal norm. I've always valued the importance of having a baby girl in a family, but as my pregnancy progressed and I reached my sixth month, the expectations of society started to weigh heavily on my mind, pulling me towards the desire for a baby boy.

It was difficult decision, but I refused to let societal pressure dictate the outcome of my pregnancy. As the due date approached, I became increasingly excited at the prospect of meeting my little girl. The moment she was born, I felt an overwhelming sense of joy and love that I had never experienced before. Holding her in my arms, I knew that my decision to ignore societal expectations was the right one. It's been a few months since her birth, and my daughter has already brought so much happiness into our lives. I feel grateful every day that I followed my heart and chose to welcome her with open arms.

Everyone around me discouraged me a lot but I was amazed at the change within myself. I successfully faced the music of society after the birth of my elder daughter with the help of few sincere ones. However, when I had my second daughter, I faced many unwelcoming gestures and remarks from my male-dominated society. Despite their hate, my love for my daughters did not diminish.

When I was going to have my third daughter, I mustered courage to ask for support from my family. Unfortunately, I failed to produce internal courage and gained support from those around me. In order to please them, I opted for a deliberate miscarriage of my daughter, which utterly changed my life.

The moment I swallowed pills to abort baby, I became too fierce and fought with every person and every thought against the birth of daughter. I started hating the idea of giving birth to a baby boy and begged for forgiveness from God. Just like a mad person I looked around my self-seeking refuge in caves after experiencing the savage behavior of people all around me.

After almost six years of struggle against societal pressure and facing bitter experience of miscarriage, I finally received a gift from God. Now my internal victory made me able to win the support of my family to warmly welcome daughter, and to my surprise, I was blessed with a son. This moment marked a turning point in my life. I had become vocal about my beliefs and values, and I was finally able to welcome a child without any external pressures.

The birth of my son brought me immense joy, but it also made me realize the importance of raising children in an environment that promotes gender equality. I became an advocate for the rights of women and girls, and I became vocal against the societal norms that value more male children over female ones.

This small moment of receiving a son after a long struggle completely changed my life in every aspect, it gave me the strength to stand up for what I believe in and to fight against injustice. It taught me that change is possible, and that sometimes, it's the small moments that have the power to change our lives in profound ways.

valuesadvice

About the Creator

Azra Yasmeen

i am a female educationist who wants to write about strength of women and about their rights as well.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Azra Yasmeen (Author)about a year ago

    thought provoking. We all should join hands together to create society having equity for both genders.

AYWritten by Azra Yasmeen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.