Families logo

A Ray of Sunshine

Who makes your life brighter?

By Patricia DavilaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
3

When days are gloomy and I can’t seem to find the light, Mom always clears the sky for me and like the sun, shines a light down on me. She isn’t perfect, but she is to me. Her rough edges and perfect imperfections are what makes her one of my favorite people in the world.

I don’t like her because she’s my mother, although that it’s a blessing that my sisters and I were given; I like her and admire her because she always has light in her eyes. Unlike her, I always see rain, which is why she always tried to show me otherwise. Mom is our rock, a rainbow that adds color into our dull lives, and when I feel like my dreams aren’t worth it, she always says that I should always do what makes me happy. I hear her, but… it’s hard to act upon her words.

I want to be just like her, I want to see the good side out of every experience, and I want to stop living with a gray cloud always hanging over my head. Mom has been through her fair share of bad moments. She was fired for “insubordination” when really, she was fired because she had the gut to speak her mind to her supervisor. She was also a victim of discrimination at that same place. She got fired through a phone call; not an ounce of respect was given to her, after the many years of work and sacrifices she made for her job. Mom was bothered by the situation at that moment, but she found the positive side of it. No, she turned it into a positive situation. She decided to take the vacation she never had the chance to take because of her job. I know now that I want to be like her—. I will be like her.

I have a job that I don’t really like, but I get pay well and I get to pay my bills, which means less stress and better things to come. Lately, I’ve also learned a lot about my mother; I understand how tiring it is for her to have to go to work early and have to come back home to take care of any chores. What I still don’t know is… How does she do it?

Always positive, with her head up high and ready for whatever life throws at her, Mom is the brightest ray of sunshine in my life. Thanks to her strength and positivity, I have started to follow my dreams and turned them into reality, starting with sharing my projects to an audience for the first time.

What will happen? I don’t know, but at least I won’t live with that pesky, annoying question… “what if…?” I am positive, that someday soon I’ll be able to tell my mom that she was right; and I will finally become a ray of sunshine just like her.

parents
3

About the Creator

Patricia Davila

I study media and Communications with the goal of becoming a storyteller in film, but writing has been a passion of mine since I was ten or eleven years old. I hope to share my stories with everyone and see your thoughts about them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.