Families logo

A Precious Friend Once Told Me Your Baby Girl Mimi Would Kill Her Mamma, Should She Continue Being Troublesome

I say that if my fur kid wasn’t a troublemaker, she wouldn’t have been that special, in all likelihood!

By Myriam Ben SalemPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Baby Mimi

Saying that my fur kid is a troublemaker would be an underestimation if I want to be frank. Nonetheless, I would have never wished her to be anything but who she exactly is!

I feel privileged and grateful to the Universe for having conspired so that our paths could converge almost two years ago! Should you have missed our magical meeting, you may find an extract here:

I imagined my very first fur kid would be a puppy until I met Mimi! I was on my way to the gym. I was proud of myself because I left home early enough for my session. I stopped my car to buy some water.

When I was about to get back into it, I heard some short and high-pitched meows. It was insisting. I went in the noisy direction, but I couldn’t see anything. It was too dark, and she (a female, yes!) was hiding between the trees since it was raining an hour before, most probably.

When I was close enough, she stuck her small and beautiful head out and started giving me hugs. She was a bit wet; still, it was enchanting to receive those free hugs from this enthusiastic and affectionate kitten!

People were passing by and observing the scene with so much skepticism or admiration, depending on who they are. I was having a blast, and even though I was late for my Body Combat class, it didn’t matter!

I was near to my place; thus, I brought her to my apartment residence and asked the security guy — a friend of mine — to keep an eye on her until I could be back, which he kindly accepted to do.

When I was back, she ran in my direction. Even though I wasn’t ready to adopt a fur kid, I was left with no choice! She was my miracle — my tiny, cute and loving miracle, and I welcomed her with open arms and a heart full of gratitude for this mesmerizing Universe!

A treasured soul friend of mine was the one teasing me about being killed because of my baby’s troublesomeness!

I need to admit that I have been lucky so far. I could have broken a few bones at least, shouldn’t I have been physically strong, skillful, and balanced enough.

If you are a new reader, welcome on board, and thank you for deciding to stop by. If you are returning, I want to express my deepest gratitude for your trust and loyalty!

In a previous piece from my Brazil adventures series, I introduced how well she was adapting to her new environment and how cozy she seemingly was in our new home. I asked you to stay tuned for the mess and here I am, as promised!

We were playing in my hosts' backyard. I love to observe her while she runs crazily in all directions or takes the predator’s position to chase a bird with all the confidence in the world before expressing her frustration of missing her prey.

Suddenly, she decided to jump into the neighbor’s backyard. My host and I ran in her direction. Below is some history to help you understand why we freaked out, in the first place:

We spent two days in a friend’s place in Sao Paulo where I broke his neighbor’s roof while pursuing her after she climbed a big tree.

The first volunteering program in Brazil was a platform in the middle of a forest. I decided to trust our bond and set her free to explore her environment and live as a wild tigress.

My second volunteering program is located in a small city called Venâncio Aires. There is a neighbor with a criminal history when it comes to any animal who risked entering his house.

Fortunately, this neighbor was a friend of my host and his parking garage door was left open. We were able to see her, but reaching her was a completely different story!

She climbed one of the biggest trees, then moved graciously to the roof where she lay comfortably. Her facial expression was saying, “Losers! Did you think that you could catch me? How foolish you are!”

Unlike in Sao Paulo, accessing the roof this time was quite complicated. My baby was smart enough to understand it and calmly give us that sarcastic look.

I am still not quite sure how I managed to do it, with the help of my host, after a few unsuccessful acrobatics. When I ultimately caught her while she was anything but ready to end the game, her resistance was fierce, to say the least.

Don’t take my words for granted. Here is my proof:

Appealingly, reaching her was merely the first step of the rescuing mission. Given that I was already struggling to hold her with one arm, I couldn’t figure out any option to reach the ground safely. There were two levels.

My host noticed my confusion and, when she couldn’t come up with an idea, called her husband for more support. Fortuitously, the guy is physically agile. He climbed to the first level where I could hardly hand over my baby.

Then, I was capable of finding my equilibrium before jumping to the floor and retrieving my kid from his arms, not without some scratches that were added to the existing list.

That was what I would call the ‘Real Mission Impossible’ without any joint effect!

childrenfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Myriam Ben Salem

I'm a passionate grown kid, a writer, a storyteller, an edutainer (education & entertainment), a lifelong learner, a speaker, an unapologetic truth-teller, and a stoic life philosophy lover!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.