Families logo

A nightmare in Brooklyn (part 1)

My black girl survival story (ask me for parts two-six)

By CassiPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

Feedback needed please!! Writing a chain story for y’all to like comment and share on here Comment #more if you want me to keep adding!!

I took my first breaths of life on August 25, 1987, in Brooklyn, New York at St Mary’s hospital now known as Interfaith medical center. My mom said she took one look at me, and said she named me Goldie because I had took on my father’s looks, and inherited his hazel, gold colored eyes, and sandy brown hair. So here I was Goldie Annkrislynn Chaimbers. Annkrislynn, was my father’s mother’s name, and my mom said she fell in love with the name the first time she heard it, so I was destined to have it. Shortly after my birth, my dad caught two homicide charges, and was sentenced to two life sentences, and left me and my mom to fend four ourselves out here in this cold world. And I would soon learn just how cold the world could get, especially if you’re caught outside with no coat. My mom was swept up into the crack epidemic by default, because she had little to no education, which meant she couldn’t get a job, that would allow her to make money so that she could take care of me, being that my dad was no longer around to support us. He was a street hustler and made a nice chunk of change up until the night one of his stash houses get robbed, and he happened to catch the robbery in progress and didn’t hesitate to pump some bullets into the two masked men. When he realized they were gravely injured, he unmasked them and his heart sank to his knees. It was my father’s own nephew Khalil and Khalil’s best friend Maurice. They were hoping to get some quick cash while my father wasn’t at the spot, but at the last minute my dad doubled back, to go retrieve a package for a friend of his. My dad had to deal with the backlash from the family, as well as the police being that the boys were only 17 years old. How was he supposed to know it was his nephew?? Why would my cousin, even risk his life knowing how dangerous my dad was for a few hundred dollars? My dad never kept a lot of cash in that particular spot, so it was basically a lost cause to even attempt a robbery. The Judge and Jury wasted no time convicting my dad one, him having a lengthy rap sheet, and two the fact that the cops recovered money, drugs, and the illegal weapon he used to kill the young men. He had no wins at all. Mom and I walked solemnly out of the courtroom, after my dad’s sentencing and I swear I saw the light go out in her one bright shiny brown eyes. Dad had always been her provider and her protector, even before I was born. He was literally all she had know being her first sexual partner with no other after him even when they would have fights and he would leave. Mama always knew he would come back so she didn’t sweat it. And just like that dad would come back bearing gifts, and hugs and kisses for both me and mom. I sure miss those days. We didn’t have it all but we had each other, and that meant more to me than any gift or shiny thing I could have ever received. I miss my dad’s hugs and kisses. Even being a grown woman now especially now I missed his presence more than ever.

As for mom, she tried to find a job that would be able to provide for use the way my dad did, but with her background and education that was a shot in the dark. Mama was brought up in a household, where the woman didn’t have to have goals or work. All she had to do was stay home and get pregnant and cook, so she grew up thinking that was an ideal life for herself. Mama didn’t possess any talents or skills of any kind. But thank god she was beautiful. There was never a shortage of eyes gazing upon her beautiful almond eyes, and her model body physique. She would turn heads and break necks, which was how she scooped my daddy in the first place. One of his famous phrases was “once I saw ya mama I knew I had to make her mine” mama would blush like a schoolgirl and snuggle up to him. Those were the good times that I’d give anything to relive once again. With daddy gone off the streets for good, the news spread through our neighborhood quickly. Everyone Assumed mama was up for grabs. Even though my dad loved her, during a phone call from prison, he told her that she should not waste her life waiting for him. He had accepted his fate, and knew that they could never be a family for real with him being locked up. Mama cried for days because he basically ended the call abruptly without giving her time to speak or even protest his decision. Mama dragged me upstate 7 hours to see him face to face and get answers, but she was devastated to find that my dad had been transferred to a maximum security prison 12 more hours away, due to him getting into fights with other prisoners and officials. They were so rude and nasty to us, and one of the bastards even had the nerve to try and make a pass at mama. I’ll never forget the words he said as we walked away hurt and confused wiping our tears, “you can always call me beautiful, and get you some free dick” as he thrust his pelvis in a humping motion, causing him and his fellow dickriders to double over in laughter. Mama didn’t even reply. She grabbed my hand and we headed out of the prison and back down to the waiting area for the bus ride to board back to the trains. My heart hurt for my daddy, but even more for my mama, because she looked so devastated and disappointed, me being a child, I didn’t know what to say or do. I loved my mama and hated to see her sad. After that day, that was the last time I saw my mama cry over my daddy. As a matter of fact, she would never speak him name again until years later. My life changed overnight in one day. My name is Goldie Annkrislynn Chaimbers, and this is how my life story begins…..

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Cassi

I am a mommy, a writer, an artist manager, a podcast host, a hairstylist, and a life changer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.