Families logo

A Mother to All

My #Boss Mom Story by Jessica Karris

By Jessica KarrisPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Me and my #Boss Mom

The lady I consider my #boss mom I would also consider a mother to all. She is always looking out for others. Especially children. She is my #boss mom because she has made a very big difference in my life, and how I grew up. She still does everyday. This lady is my chosen second mother. She graciously assumed that role in my life when my mom died from cancer when I was just a child. I would have chosen my natural mom as my #boss mom, but I don’t remember a lot about what she taught me growing up. While she was here, she taught me love. I do know that her death has played a part in who I am today, as a person, and as a writer.

I knew my #boss mom before my mother had passed away. I hung at her house from time to time. She never minded that I was there, because she didn’t have a little girl of her own. I started looking at her as my #boss mom shortly after my natural mom passed away. She did everything with me as if I was her own child. She made sure I felt like I belonged somewhere. She was always there to listen and be a shoulder to lean on. I needed that; because I didn’t have any brothers or sisters to talk to. Only my dad. Sometimes it can be hard for a teenage girl to go to her father on certain subjects; especially in our situation at that time.

It started out that I just hung out with her sons. Eventually, I would also spend a lot of time visiting with my #boss mom as well. Most of the time, she would ask me join in for a meal with her family. It wasn’t too long before everybody got used to having me there; as I was there quite often.

My #boss mom went beyond that hospitality. She would give me advice if I needed it. I could go to her about everything; and still can. Unlike others in my life, she would support everything I did, or wanted to do; in every way she could. I had a choir concert once, and she didn’t blink about it once to come to it, and support me. When I practiced my songs, she always took time out to listen to me sing all my songs. She always encouraged me to do my best. Once again, this is something she still does with me to this day.

When my family broke apart, and quit doing holiday meals, #boss mom came to the rescue yet again. She began inviting me to some of their family holiday get-togethers. It got to the point where most of her family knew me; and considered me family as well. In fact, my #boss mom had always told me I was her daughter that she never had; and considered me as such. Her husband also considers me as his daughter. It felt really good to feel appreciated and loved again.

Perhaps the single most important thing that #boss mom has ever done for me is to take me under her wing spiritually. I might have never come to know my Savior if it wasn’t for her. She was the one who took me to my first encounter with Him. She brought me with her and a couple friends to go see Billy Graham. I gave myself to Jesus that evening.

My #boss mom started inviting me to church with her family. My dad didn’t already go to to church; so I accepted and went. It became a regular thing. As her son attended confirmation, she encouraged me to become a part of the church’s choir. She taught me a lot of what I needed to know; and I grew. As I grew, I took that experience, and became more involved.

My #boss mom is my neighbor, friend, and so much more. She took on a lot when she decided to become involved in my life; and she loved every minute of it. We were very blessed to have each other.

My #boss mom and I are still friends to this day. We visit, have fun, and sometimes share tears. She is still a church lady; and thanks to her so am I. She listens, gives advice, encourages, and prays for me all the time. It is in her nature to do so. My #boss mom also does all the above for everyone who is in need of it. She teaches Sunday school to children, and guides them as though they were all her precious own. I would be a very different person without her in my life. She continued my moms lesson in love; so that I may grow into a loving, just human being. This is why she is my chosen #boss mom; and a mother to all.

extended family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.