Families logo

A Mother's Love

The Heart of Gold!

By Yvonne L. DavisPublished 3 years ago 4 min read

05/28/21

A Mother’s Love

The Golden Heart

In the year of 1968, you were just living your life the best that you knew how. You began feeling a little strange in your body one day. You noticed that your appetite had increased tremendously and you didn’t know why. You are very young, beautiful inside and out, and full of life. You began to crave for certain foods especially a Pepsi Cola and salty peanuts. You were truly talented and carried the gift of golden love in your heart. You knew in your heart that you needed to go to the Doctor because you were feeling very uncomfortable in your body. The Doctor examined you and then you knew about me. “Yes, I am having another baby”, you thought to yourself.

You were so exited, full of joy, scared, and emotionally amused at what the Doctor had discovered. You couldn’t wait to get home to tell your boyfriend, family, and friends about the new life that was living inside of you. As each month passes, you became more and more anticipated to see who I would look like. Your golden love grew more and more each day because of the big surprise that you were carrying inside of you. You didn’t know what gender I was going to be, because they had no ultra sound back in these days. You didn’t know whether to buy clothes for a little boy or a little girl. Even though you already had your 1st baby boy in 1965, you still had a heart golden enough to shine brighter for your new heartbeat.

My father and you were very much in love and I was just what the both of you always wanted.

Some days were better than other days but you were determined to birth this new baby into this world. Finally, the day of August the 11th came and you were in labor with me for 12 hours. You were in a lot of pain and couldn’t have any medications to help with the pain that you were having from the contractions. One feet was on earth and the other feet were near the grave. You still took all of this unbearable pain just to have your dream come true for you and my father. At 6:26 am you birth a beautiful baby girl into the world. You had already known what you were going to name her if she was a girl. You sat under a tree with my father’s nephew month’s earlier thinking of boy and girls names. The mid-wife helped you to deliver me into this world as well. She said, “It’s a girl Daisy,” When you looked into my eyes you had your bundle of joy that you waited for in expectation. She very vibrant and beautiful to look upon. She weighed 9lbs. and 10 ounces and looked just liked her father Roy. You named her Yvonne Lavern Davis.

As time went by, Yvonne began to grow and started attending Public Schools. I remember my mother always kissing my brother and I everyone morning before going to School. She would always say, “I love you”, to my brother William and I. We would say, “Momma why do we have to kiss you every morning before leaving for school?” She said, “You are going to kiss me”, so we did. I think this is why I like to kiss right now to this day. My mother has always been there for my brother and I as long as I can remember. She taught us that love makes the world go around. She would always make sure that we had what we needed to for school as well.

Everyday wasn’t sunshine for us but Momma would go the extra mile for us no matter what the consequences was. She taught us that respect and manners would take you where money would not. She would defend her children only if they were right about any matter. If they were wrong about anything she would not defend us and we had to have a real apology to the other person as well. My mother taught us to never be selfish and to help someone whenever you could. Her words were, “You never know who you may need someday”. She told us, “go make something out of your lives so you don’t have to depend on other people to take care of you”. To go through all this pain for 9 months, waiting patiently, having mood swings, body going through changes and taking care of your baby is an honor. Always spend quality time with your family as well. I am 52 years young and I can still hear my mother's voice in my heart. She would say, "Always treat everyone like you wish to be treated". She taught me that we are just traveling through this world and we are not here to stay. Always be authentic when it comes to love. If you fall, get up and brush yourself off and try again. As I look back on my life, I know I wouldn't have made it through all of this. Always respect yourself and treat everyone with pure love. Respect is one of the GREATEST lesson taught by our mother Daisy. Any woman can have a baby but it takes a strong golden heart to be a mother forever.

children

About the Creator

Yvonne L. Davis

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Yvonne L. DavisWritten by Yvonne L. Davis

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.