Families logo

A Letter To My Mom

Love, your daughter

By Shay GrossPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Mom,

I could never thank you enough for everything that you've done for me. I don't mean that lightly. Thank you for waking me up for school and brushing the knots out of my hair, while pulling the occasional clump out too :) thank you for taking care of me when I'm sick and bringing me breakfast in bed. Or driving me to school every day because I didn't like the bus, thank you for always being the "homeroom mom at school" so that we didn't have to be apart (and for giving me permanent separation anxiety because of that). Thank you for taking us on family vacations, giving us girls weekends, making the BEST mashed potatos (Mama mash). Showering me with constant love and affection, teaching me how to love people properly so that I can share it with everyone that I love around me. You are my biggest inspiration.

I get stuck on my words when I think about how to explain how much I love you, and what it feels like... It's like everytime you have to make a big life decision that would impact your life, I think about what would make you the most proud, or what advice you would give me. Or when you're having a day when you feel like nothing is going right, sometimes the only relief you need is the sound of your voice and your level headed decsion making.

A world without you, isn't a world I ever want to know. I truly believe that our love is like no other and nobody else feels the amount of unconditional love that I have for you. I try to think about how anyone could possibly have a better Mom than me. But I can't - that just doesn't exist. I know that sounds so selfish, but when I look back on my childhood I see nothing but perfection. I had the perfect childhood growing up, I wouldn't have changed a thing even if I could.

Thank you for raising me to hug everyone that I care about every time I see them. There are a lot of people in this world who weren't raised with that kind of affection and think that I'm so weird for hugging everyone. I think its the softest way of showing your apprecation for those important to you. Thank you for raising me to always say I LOVE YOU, and overuse it every chance I get. It helps me make sure that the people closest to me know just how much I care. Thank you for raising me to put others first. I thought this was my biggest downfall for the longest time, I got so many hurt feelings over this one. The older I get though, the more I realize that it's one of the best things about me.

I am so grateful that God chose us to be together in this lifetime. Someone so beautiful, so perfect, so outgoing. Someone so pure and gentle. I hope that I am half as amazing as you (only half because I have to give Dad some credit too) LOL!

I wish that I could pay you back with the world. My biggest dream in life is to become successful, not just for myself - but for you. So that I can achieve everything in this life that you have always believed that I could. You have always believed in me, through every part of life. I am so lucky to have your support.

To the best mom in the entire world, the most beautiful, spiritual, down to Earth, I love you with all of my heart. I want the world to know exactly how much I love you. I know that Pappi is so proud of who you are.

Happy Mother's Day Mummy!!

Thank you for always putting us FIRST!! <3

parents
Like

About the Creator

Shay Gross

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.