Families logo

A Letter to My Little Sisters

Some Advice From Your Big Sis

By Carly McCulloughPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

To the three most important girls in my life,

Look, girls, I know I'm still young myself but your big sister has seen enough of this big bad world to be able to give you some advice. Please read carefully and although it may not all be applicable to you, keep it in mind anyway.

1. You decide your self-worth.

For a majority of my school years, I allowed my worth to be decided, unintentionally, by the people around me. Whether it was my peers, close friends or even teachers who were just trying to help. At the time, I thought this was normal but trust me, it can be detrimental to your mental health. Never allow anyone to make you feel stupid, unattractive or like your not worth their time because it isn't true. You decide your self-worth my lovelies and don't you forget it.

2. Not doing your schoolwork doesn't make you cool.

I went through a phase in school where I thought not doing my homework or not revising for that 'stupid test' would make me seem cool but it doesn't. The people I actually looked up to in school were the ones who worked hard and got good grades in their papers. I know it might not seem like it now, but you'll be grateful you studied so get on it girls!

3. Get a job as soon as you can.

Some people may disagree with this but I truly believe getting your first job really kickstarts your life as an independent girl. Now, I am well aware that getting up for school is hard enough without knowing you then have to go to work afterwards but I'm telling you now, it will all be worth it. I loved my job in Dune and I've come away from it with a very close friend and a different outlook on life so please, get the job. (And remember, you don't have to ask mum and dad for money when you have your own!)

4. Don't feel like you have to go to university.

This is something I feel strongly about. Throughout your school life, you will be told by all of your teachers that you must go to university if you want a good career. This simply isn't true. Some of the most successful people in the world didn't go to university e.g. Lord Sugar, Simon Cowell, Bill Gates, Steve Jobs and that's just naming a few. Don't get me wrong, I'm in university now and I love it but it's not for everyone so don't feel like you have to go!

5. Mum is always right.

Believe me when I say this, mother knows best. Be it about your friends, boys you'll bring home or even the simplest piece of advice she gives you. Mum is always right! I'm still learning this but when I look back on things mum has said to me in the past, she has always ended up winning. You'll all have disagreements with her for different reasons but don't get too angry when this happens because you have to go through it but I'll say it again, the likelihood is you're wrong and she's right.

6. Have Fun

The final piece of advice I will give you in this letter is to have fun and enjoy yourselves. Don't live life too carefully. Go to the parties, stay up late, do fun, stupid things with your friends. As long as it doesn't become your sole focus, there's no harm in it.

Well, girls, I think that's enough advice from me at the minute. You don't have to follow it to the letter, but just remember, I'm only speaking from experience.

Love, Carly xxx

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.