Families logo

A Day in the Life of Pam

Connecting People To The Community

By Pam TuckerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Our House

A Day in the life

Of Pam Tucker

Never have I been asked to celebrate myself though when I reflect on all the things that I’ve done for people and how I’ve worked so hard to try and help and heal humanity or make a difference to the world in a way, I feel this is worth celebrating so thank you for the invitation to tell my story. My name is Pam, I’ve spent many years working towards a career that is helping children and families. Whilst backpacking in Scotland I worked at a social work center in administration to gain experience in the industry. When I came home from my working holiday, I started studying at age 29. I began with a certificate 3 in Children’s Services and Disability Support Work gaining experience working in the industry. I studied a year of primary education studies and realised I wanted to work not only in schools but in the wider community with all ages in a variety of areas. I finished a university degree in Community Development with a passion for working with Australian Indigenous people.

I volunteered in Thailand at an orphanage with children in a village as a Teachers Aid and house Nanny and it was a life changing experience, and it enhanced my passion for working with children and families. I’ve had many roles, but in my current job I am working as a support worker with a family assisting their three children with disabilities. I love it, it brings me joy working with the three children. I love learning about their individual personalities, how intelligent they are in their own little unique ways, the smile on their faces when they are happy, when they are learning and having fun. I love watching their little minds tick over as they grasp new concepts and it brings peace to my heart knowing that in some way, I am helping to change little lives and not only the lives for the three children, but also for their parents.

I feel it is a really rewarding job and I’m proud and happy to be working with these children and I’m proud of these children. They will grow up to be uniquely celebrated in the world, to be love for who they are. They already are such beaming lights with so much to offer the world, they already make a difference in my day, every day. From baking bread together, to playing lego and counting numbers, to nature walks at the river to learning about the world. Giving their parents a little breather means that they then can give more to their children. I consider myself to be quire a humble person, though I know I work hard to help members of the community, and worldwide if I can. It is my vision to continue to make a difference for children of all ages. And to help them realise just how amazing they are, so they can be the best versions of themselves as they can be.

These beautiful humans I care for age 2, 5 and 15 already have such strong personalities. They certainly will make their mark in the world. I love hearing their stories they make up, the questions that they ask. The way the room lights up just with their laughter, I think sometimes we forget the innocence of children, and how important it is to nurture them. How very important it is to create an environment where they feel safe and loved, I feel so very blessed to be of service to them, to help them learn and grow. My job is amazing! So are the children I care for! And so am I!

children
1

About the Creator

Pam Tucker

I love writing traveling and anything to do with community. I'm really happy to have found this writing platform !

Take Care

Pam

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.