Families logo

5 Reasons Why I Chose to Live at Home

Some Good Advice

By Bryanna BurshnickPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

I’m 21-years-old and I live with my parents. And let’s be honest, there is nothing ideal, fun, sexy, or cool about it.

Pretty much all my friends have their own homes or apartments, and then there's me; still in the same bedroom I grew up in. But you don’t ever hear me complain about it. Yeah, I’ve thought about moving out several times. I even did my first two years of college when I was living in the dorms. But I still came home, I still moved back in, and I still haven’t moved back out yet. Half of my friends mock and poke fun at me for it, and the other half impart there wisdom on me to stay as long as I can. I’ve chosen the latter, unless the right opportunity comes up. Here’s why I’ve chosen to stay at home instead of move out as a 21-years-old.

1. I get to live RENT FREE!!

I have a decent job that I really like, but I didn’t want to completely live off my parents. I am an adult, after all, so I pay a certain number of bills and I help out around the house, but I don’t have a hefty rent/utility bill to worry about.

2. I have the opportunity to save money.

My first year back at home, I spent a pretty sizable about of money. I had it to spend, and I wasn’t paying a lot of bills. This year is different. I’ve realized that I’ve been given an opportunity to save the money I make, which is not something that a lot of people my age get. I took it for granted before, but not anymore. I’ve started retirement funds and savings accounts, all things to ensure a good future for me.

3. Home Cooked Food!

Who doesn’t love mom’s home cooked food? For someone like me, who doesn’t really cook or know how to cook for that matter, I very much appreciate home cooked meals. For those readers that know my mom, they know that my mother is one of the nicest, most genuine people I know. I am undeserving of the breakfast I wake up to sometimes, the grilled cheese she’ll make when I come home from work, and cookies and treats she makes for me and my friends, and more.

4. I always have a place to sleep.

This reason might sound strange, but it’s true. The people out there that struggle to pay rent, or couch surf, or don’t have many friends or family to help them out have to worry about this. Or the people out there who’s roommates don’t want to live with them anymore, or their lease is about to go up, they have to worry about this too. I am fortunate enough to live in a place where I never have to worry about where I’m going to sleep or be turned away.

5. It’s something I felt I needed to do.

I am constantly surrounded by people who unconditionally love and support me. At a time where I really needed it, but didn’t really want it, moving back in with my parents has helped me become a different person. My parents have never given up on me even when I was struggling to keep my head above water. I personally needed to do this.

Now this isn’t to say that moving back home hasn’t been a real pain in the ass. I may be an adult, but it is my parents' house, so there are still some rules to follow. But if following some rules, cleaning some dishes, and hanging out with the old folks every once in a while is all I need to do to be able to live rent free and live with all my opportunities, then, yes, I will do it. So to those out there that think living at home is horrible or you think you’d rather die then live at home and follow some rules, let me assure you. Living at home has become one of the best decisions I’ve made and in the long run I know it will really help me out.

immediate family
1

About the Creator

Bryanna Burshnick

I'm an aspiring writer, music believer, food endulger, and lover of life here to share my own experiences, ideas, advice, and beliefs!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.