Families logo

10 Important Roles of a Mother in the Family

The Emotional Nurturer

By Ifeanyi Benedict Published about a year ago 3 min read
1
10 Important Roles of a Mother in the Family
Photo by Alexander Dummer on Unsplash

A good mom changes everything and the importance of mothers cannot be understated. A mother plays many roles over the course of her child’s life –each one vital to shaping her child in different ways. Whether she is the primary caregiver, working parent, or both she holds an incredibly important role in her family.

When my firstborn came careening into our world, I didn’t know what to expect. What was my new role of mother in my family and how could I embrace each aspect in a positive way?

I did know, of course, sort of. I had read “What to Expect When You’re Expecting” at least three times through, plus 5-10 other parenting, nursing, and birthing books. And about 1000 online articles about being a mom and caring for a baby. I had listened to advice at baby showers: “sleep when the baby sleeps” and “it’s life-changing” and “cherish every minute, it goes so fast.”

But I still didn’t know what to expect in this essential role.

At first, it was all consuming just to keep this tiny miracle alive. To stop her screeching, to get her latched properly, to keep her comfy, to hope I wasn’t irreversibly screwing her up. As the intensity of the early months faded,we came up for air, and my role in our family unit had

shifted.

1. The Caregiver

I was acting as her first care-giver.

When I broke myself to bring her into the world alive.

When I used by body to feed and sustain her for months.

When I changed each gag-inducing dirty diaper.

When I pushed her little arms into the thick snowsuit, zipping her snug as a bug against the elements.

When I steadied her arms as she walked, and spooned baby food into her mouth….

Whether you are at home full time or a working mother or anything in between, this role of Caregiver is an incredibly exhausting, breathtakingly beautiful miracle.

This role is most intense with younger children, but will take less time in later years. My role as a caregiver is shifting as my kids get older…sometimes that makes me sad, and sometimes it deeply thrills me–the complicated and mysterious joy of motherhood.

2. The Health Care Provider

As part of my health care provider role in family life I am the nurse healing scrape with a mother’s kiss, spooning chicken noodle soup into bowls, making doctor’s appointments, and dosing tylenol for children’s fevers. The mother’s role of health care provider is a big one!

3. The Activity Coordinator

As the activity coordinator I am in charge of my children’s schedule. I keep track of their school activities, play dates, doctor’s appointments, music lessons and any number of other events. Not to mention making sure all the calendars synch up! That is a huge job in a child’s life–one you may not fully appreciate until YOU are the adult trying to balance all the things.

4. The Child’s Teacher

I am my child’s first language arts teacher as I read my children nursery rhymes. I am the first math teacher as I count to 10 over and over again. As they begin school I help them understand how academic achievement can help their lives and proof papers and help them understand the importance of basic math skills as we cook together.

5. The Financial Planner

Kids have no idea what money is or how to use it. One of my roles in my child’s life is to act as their financial planner taking care of all the household expenses and teaching them to be responsible and generous with money. In our house I do this by allowing our children to earn money for small jobs around the house. Then we help them learn to save, spend and give the money that they earn.

6. The Home Caretaker

When my kids are small my role as the home caretaker includes being the chef, housekeeper, groundskeeper, laundress and more. Over time as my kids grow, I begin to include them in these undertakings so they can learn the life skills they need in a safe, “it’s okay to fail” environment.

“We all work together to keep our house clean.”

In my family we chant this little motto together to remind us that while my role as a mother may now include more of the home caretaker, it is a role that EVERYONE in our family takes part in.

parentshow tochildren
1

About the Creator

Ifeanyi Benedict

art writing...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.