Education logo

You Will Pass The Bar. Be Clear On What You Want

For Philippine Bar Exam reviewees: set your intentions right from day 1

By Olivia MarlenePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
You Will Pass The Bar. Be Clear On What You Want
Photo by Melinda Gimpel on Unsplash

Let Go of Your Fear of Failing

It's either a PASS or FAIL. From a mathematical point of view, the probability of you passing the bar is 50%. The other 50% is the probability that you will fail. Do you entertain thoughts of failing? Be honest. Answer me.

Let me tell you this. The chance of failing will always be there. It's constant. No one can change that. It's beyond your control. But please, just leave it as it is - only a chance. If it is bound to happen, it will happen, but it will happen later on. Not now, not on your mind!

Don't be the first one to entertain the 50% negative chance. Don't make it happen in your mind now. Don't do the what-ifs, don't make a scene in your mind. It will distract you.

Remember that you have only one goal, that is, to pass. Be clear on your intentions, be confident, feel it, own it, you will pass the bar 100%.

Review to pass, not review so you will not fail. There is a difference. That's what distinguishes rich people from poor. They say that rich people play the game of life to win while poor people play the game making sure not to lose. Always act like the rich, give your best to pass, and never entertain the possibility of failure.

By Green Chameleon on Unsplash

I Didn't Entertain Any Possibility Of Failure

I set clear intentions from day 1. These are what I did:

I told myself and my family that I will take the bar exam only once

It was an "it's now or never" deal. I only gave myself one chance. Miss the chance and I will forever bid goodbye to my goal of becoming a lawyer. If you notice, it's a goal, not a dream. Becoming a lawyer was never a dream. That topic will be the subject of another story so as not to deviate from our topic today.

I made a vision board and did visualization exercises

I have a confession to make, this thing I haven't shared even with my closest friends but I will share it with you now. You know, on my vision board, I made a mock newspaper clipping of bar exam passers and I put my name and picture on Top 4 :). I didn't only visualize to pass, I visualized being on the Top 10.

“Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you'll land among the stars.”― Norman Vincent Peale

I made myself a lawyer by reciting the lawyer's oath every day, claiming and feeling that I'm already one. If you haven't read my story on how I visualized and manifested my goal to be a lawyer, I will put a link to the story below.

To be sure that I'll keep my promise to take the bar only once, I burned all my reviewers after my review

History gave us stories of successful world explorers who burned their ships so they won't have a way to go back. They have to be successful in conquering a new land or bid goodbye to their life.

Well, for me I had a burning ceremony of all my review materials. All my notes from my readings and the photocopies, they're gone after the bar exam.

It is a signal that I was committed to my promise. There is no way that I will repeat the grueling 6-month review. I wouldn't want to repeat all the reading and note taking once again.

I made it clear on day 1. There is no way that I can go back because I will burn the ship.

[Please note that I only burned the notes and reviewers. I did keep the hardbound books for display because they are expensive and I know that I will be needing them once I become a lawyer.]

By Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

I Only Had One Choice

My only choice is to pass the bar. I was clear on that.

Hence, I gave up to the last drop of my blood to prepare for the bar. I studied like there is no tomorrow. I never had a schedule because I have only one for each day - to study. I didn't mind time.

I studied all the time as long as my brain can absorb. I even studied while sleeping. How? I let the bar videos play and listen while I lie in bed on my way to sleep. Subconsciously, I think I was able to absorb some concepts.

The only time that I take a rest and go out is when I attend mass on Sundays. Until now, I can still remember how good I felt with the wind brushing my hair and skin. I literally isolated and imprisoned myself just to study.

Parting Words

Friends, burn the ship. Study like there is no way to go back. It's not easy but it will all be worth it in the end. Keep focused on the goal. Don't entertain the thoughts of failing. Study to succeed, not study so you will not fail. There is a difference.

Promise me one thing today: erase the possibility of failure in your mind.

If you haven't subscribed to my "5-Minute Bar Exam Story" please leave your emails HERE.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Olivia Marlene

Member of the Legal Profession * Saving and Investing Enthusiast *Blogger * Mom * Wife

You can follow me on Facebook and Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.