Education logo

What would you do?

My son's story

By Samantha WardPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
What would you do?
Photo by Ivan Aleksic on Unsplash

So, my 6-year-old son is going through many tests to see whether or not he is autistic. He has CMT (Charcot Marie Tooth disorder), which is a nerve condition I have another story about this particular disorder. He also has ADHD, but they think that he is also autistic, so they are doing several tests to see if he is or not. Well, his behavior is horrible, he does not listen very well to anyone. He does not do well at school. But, the school just kicks him off the bus or sends him home. They do not do well with him at all.

There was an incident where a kid was picking on him on the bus, and he got in trouble instead of the other kid. He reacted that way because of that other child.

Now, let's say it like this I told them I would take my child out and place him somewhere that they could handle him because obviously he isn't learning because you just keep sending him home, and you can't deal with him properly so therefore, I think I should pull him and send him elsewhere. They are trying to fight me on this everyone says I have the final say because he is my child. But, I feel like I shouldn't have to fight with them I think that they should be like yea we can't handle him we can send his records elsewhere with no problem, but instead, they try to just keep him there, and then that becomes more of a headache for everyone.

We only have one vehicle, and my fiance takes it to work. They do not understand that I can not just come to pick him up every time they can not handle him or take him and pick him up every time they decide to kick him off the bus for standing up.

Let's go more in-depth about the bus suspensions. The first one was because he refused to get on the bus at the end of the day to come home. This was really odd to me because what did the bus driver do to my child that he did not want to get on the bus to come home where he knows we are? Let me just add that he is a big mommy's boy and wants me all the time, so this struck me as very odd. I still have a hard time believing this. Then you suspend him for 3 days off the bus because he refused to get on the bus; what sense does that make?

So, now the most current one where he got suspended from the bus for 5 days was because he was throwing things on the bus and standing in his seat. He sits with his oldest brother who is 10 and in the front seat. Also, he sits by the window. Now, I understand the safety issues that they have when it comes to the bus but my 6-year-old does not understand. He was completely baffled as to why he literally just got back on the bus, and they already wrote him up again and then automatically suspended him. They do not try to work with me at all when it comes to him they just want the money they get for my son. This is how I feel.

Now, I have told the principal several times that he is different and does not understand like other children. He is super, super smart but he has issues. He does not know how to control his anger either. This gets out of control. For example, The teacher took his elf for a week until I went and made them give it back to me. Why would you take a form of comfort from a child? They say he was just not paying attention in class. Well, that is going to happen sometimes. They did try noise cancelling headphones that work when he is not too aggravated to put them on. There are several things that I think they could handle better.

So my question to everyone reading this what would you do if this was your child? I feel like my child is being targeted because he is different and has different needs. I want to go to the superintendent and I honestly think I am going to. So, look out for part two of my son's story.

bullyingstudent
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Ward

Just a mom of 4 children going through this rough life! Love reading and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.