Education logo

What would you do Part 3

Part 3 of my sons story

By Samantha WardPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
What would you do Part 3
Photo by Kimberly Farmer on Unsplash

Continuing parts 1 and 2 of my son's story with the school. My son has now been suspended twice since the previous stories.

The first time was for three days for hitting a child that took a basketball that he was playing with at recess and throwing it on the roof of the school so that he could no longer play with the basketball. My son responded by hitting the child. My son was then suspended for three days and the other child got no type of punishment.

The second time my son was suspended was because of running from a teacher. This is by no means a reason to suspend a child. I was furious. They suspended him for FIVE days over this! I had requested a meeting with the superintendent and everyone that works with him over this! During the meeting, the principal tried to say it was for his "Safety". I think she was just reaching for a reason since the superintendent was right there. I made it known to her before the meeting that I was not happy about it. Her reply was I don't appreciate your language. I said well I don't appreciate you suspending my son all the time either.

Before this, we decided to put him in a cab to ride to and from school so that he would not be overwhelmed by the bus. This worked for a while. We then had to change his schedule so that he was not always in a big classroom to get too overwhelmed.

Now, we have made more changes which include him helping another staff member after his lunch is over. He loves to help and had said the first day when he came home that he enjoyed helping in the cafeteria so that is a win! Then after that, he goes to recess with his counselor and then goes back to her room and then goes to his small classroom until he gets out of school which is about an hour and a half sooner than the rest of the school. We were hoping that he would not notice this because we are going to change it back eventually. But, he noticed and asked me why he got home so much earlier and I told him it was so that he and I could spend time together before his siblings got home. He did not like this change! He started then acting out at home. This change has currently only been one day. He goes to the doctor this week and I am hoping we can come up with a better solution so that we can get him back to a full day like he wants.

I am still up in the air about what to do to make sure that this does not happen to another student. There are several special needs children at this school and none of them are treated how they should be treated. I am one that will not stop fighting for what is right. If it is wrong then it is wrong. I watched my mom go through all this with my autistic brother and I feel like I just keep going in circles. The meeting I had with everyone lasted two hours so that I could make sure that everyone was understanding what I was saying. The superintendent wrote down a lot of what I said and I really think that the principal needs to leave.

The one assistant principal had told them that she never has issues with my son and she isn't sure why everyone else does. I tried to explain to them that it is all about who my son trusts and if he doesn't trust someone he will not listen to them. We came up with there are three people in the school that my son trusts which is the counselor, the one assistant principal, and his aide.

If you were in my position what would you do?

teacherstudentbullying
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Ward

Just a mom of 4 children going through this rough life! Love reading and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.