Education logo

What I Wish I Knew Before Applying for College Abroad

Told by an International Student from Swaziland, Africa

By Linda MayabaPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I still remember the day I received my admission offer from my dream university. "We're pleased to offer you admission..." I couldn't move for a while. I was paralyzed with joy. The feeling is difficult to explain (probably because it was ages ago) but I felt really proud of myself. However, what I didn't know then was though a huge success, an admission offer is only the tip of the iceberg when it comes to the college admission process.

You've now been offered admission—what's next? You're about to begin an exciting chapter of your life but first, there are some things to keep in mind:

To Be or Not to Be?

Studying abroad is one of the best challenges you can sign up for but be prepared to experience some life changing moments. Navigating your sense of identity and witnessing your friends experience it too will be interesting. Tip: Be open minded to changes in your identity, values, and even interests but most importantly be comfortable in your own skin.

Adding on to identity navigation is culture shock—a feeling of disorientation due to exposure to new culture, lifestyle, and attitudes. Culture shock is normal but what's important is how one reacts to it. Some embrace the discomfort and try to adapt to the new lifestyle while others may suddenly become extremely patriotic and "protect" their identity. Either way, know that culture shock is a natural part of adapting to your new environment.

Your medical information, please?

I wish after all the endless studying and personal statements drafts, you could magically arrive on campus but that's nearly impossible. You still need legal entry documents such as a visa or study permit. Some universities may be in states/provinces with very strict immigration control laws such as required medical tests as part of the visa application process. I was required to take blood tests as a health check-up procedure (Cabanga!) P.S: There's no way around this one, unfortunately.

College applications are expensive.

Nobody warns you about the amount of money that goes into paying application fees, requesting bank statements to prove your financial need, the countless immunizations and vaccines for medical history (dare I say you come from a developing country), the transport costs, and admin costs for sending in all these applications. Tip: Be prepared. Create a budget. Trust me, you'll need it.

Being an international student is a curse and blessing.

Colleges like to have you on their campus because you bring diversity into the learning experience (do you really??) but they also are running a business, so they'll charge you three times more than domestic students at any chance they get. Tip: Be smart. Research on scholarships and funding for international students that you may be eligible for.

A Taste of Adulthood

Some college students are lucky to have immediate support from family and friends. However, studying abroad may mean you have to begin a whole new life where you make new friends and build new connections. This means you’re mainly responsible for yourself. Studying abroad means you suddenly realise that it takes responsibility and discipline to be an adult (I think). You must take care of yourself while dealing with school at the same time. You need to make sure you’re eating right, you need to make sure you’re getting enough sleep, and so on. It's challenging to have it all together (trust me, I know). Habitually, on the first day of every month, I find myself wondering if I’ve paid rent or my phone bill, yet three years ago, the first of the month had no significance to me.

On the other hand, college is pretty much laissez–faire in my opinion. Yes, there’s responsibility but no one micromanages you. It's up to you to decide if you show up to class or not. It's up to you to ask more questions. It's totally up to you to study or not. It's your call.

P.S As always, these are a combination of personal experiences, so do make sure to research on the requirements specific to your college/ situation.

college
Like

About the Creator

Linda Mayaba

Hello!! Thanks for stopping by. We all have words,stories and narratives to share. and these are some of mine...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.