Education logo

What Do We Expect from University?

My Thoughts on What Surprised Me about University Life

By Sophie WardlePublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Everyone tells you that university is an exotic, life-changing experience; that being here can in some way “complete” you, especially in America. For some this may be the case in the fairy tale way it is advertised (the "all your dreams will come true" outlook), but for me in old Blighty, I found this to be true, but in much subtler ways.

Almost half a year ago, I left home to come to university, and till only recently, I didn’t even begin to think how much would change in my life. Yes, there’s the mundane things like learning how long can you really keep eggs in the fridge and still use them or texting your mom asking "Is a washing machine supposed to sound like it's going to blow up??" Ys, kids, learning to adult really is all that fun. However, there are other things that I hadn’t even thought would affect me.

I was always close with my family, but like any other teenager at the time, I wanted to get out of the house and live my own life. Yet I found that, whilst having a productive and fun time here it is difficult to get used to the fact that at the end of the day, it is just you. Now I’m out of where I lived, I miss my chaotic family more than I thought I would; most of the time I feel like I’m missing out on the activities they do. For example, even just going for lunch with relatives or just having family film nights without me.

Another thing that surprised me is that it is okay to be lonely sometimes. There’s pressure on students all the time, however, no one talks about the pressure there is to make life-long friends whilst you’re here. I mean of course it is super easy to make friends as everyone is in the same boat, but there is an overwhelming sense to please people; especially who you live with. I’ve learnt that it is okay to not try and be friends with everybody. Some people really are just not worth the effort and if it’s easier to be on your own than embrace that. Although, I have found that friendships and cliques can be formed very quickly and I perceive this to be a good thing. People get close quickly, meaning that you can get support very quickly from those around you.

When you make the decision to come to university, you base your choice off of the subject you want to study further. I feel like this is something that is forgotten when you arrive at university, which in all honesty is hard not to do with everything being so new. However, it is an amazing experience and it is one that you choose to involve yourself in. So to whoever is planning on going to university or who is already a student: don’t forget that it is all about learning about yourself and what you want out of life.

college
Like

About the Creator

Sophie Wardle

Creative events management student who loves talking about food and everyday life

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.