Education logo

WALKING THE STAGE

My remarkable Day

By Babs IversonPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
WALKING THE STAGE
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

In this crazy, unbalanced, and unpredictable world, there's no time to wait. Wait? Who waits? No one! It is hurried. Hurry! Hurry! Hurry! With instant everything, people look for immediate gratification. You might read about someone's overnight success, appearing on the surface that no time and energy is deemed necessary or required. Really, a time-consuming option isn't even considered! Isn't this what promoters promote? As a result, this is what people believe.

In reality, greatness or a remarkable moment, like wine, takes time. As the saying goes, "All good things come to those who wait."

Slowly, ever so slowly the wheels of time turn. Time is of the essence! Time is money! If you are in the midst of purchasing a property or making an equity investment, you better believe that time is money. In a matter of hours or minutes, you could lose or gain monetary funds. It's a risk!

When investing in yourself, again, the investment is a risk. But, it is well worth taking. As a matter of fact, the journey can be bumpy and steep with a few detours along the way. While being extremely time-consuming, my persistent journey culminated into a special moment and my remarkable day sparkling and shining like a diamond. 

In the beginning, there was no great plan or goal. However, there was a deep unexplainable desire to take a college course at the junior college which was within walking distance of my apartment. It was the first time, and it was the first step in doing something totally for myself. Before, there was always time for everyone else. This time, it was for me. The investment was in my future.

By Victoria Heath on Unsplash

Of course! At work, there was the required paperwork that had to be submitted before enrolling in order to be reimbursed for the college course. Starting my academic journey, the Marketing class would irrevocably change my life. The class was beyond my expectations. After receiving my first A in my very first college course, my enthusiasm for college courses soared. 

Hooked!

Ultimately, time management became a crucial and constant consideration. Spring, Summer, or Fall semester, one course was managed at a time. On occasion, two courses were undertaken during a semester.

Submitting paperwork for reimbursement of the college courses became a normal routine. Simply, one or two courses were enrolled in and completed at a time. While not sure when the thought of completing the junior college's associate degree plan came to mind, eventually, it did happen. Guessing, it would have been around the eighteen credit hours mark.

Beginning by reviewing and checking off the classes that were completed, my next course or courses were planned and scheduled. An innocuous progression was taking place. Slowly, one step at a time, before knowing it, eight classes were completed with twenty-four credit hours earned.

Early in my academic journey, the words objective and subjective were mentioned. Knowing the definition and the difference between objective and subjective, my academic success definitely depended on it, learning that professors used both criteria when grading,

While morning classes or evening classes were taken in a classroom setting, there were telecourses. For one, the Humanities course was completed by walking to the telecourse lab, watching the videos in the lab, taking the scheduled exams in the testing room, and in this case, going to the museums on my own.

While in my pink sweats, sitting on the apartment floor, my written assignments for Humanities were meticulously completed. Since there were a good number of courses that were accomplished through the telecourse program, my routine of walking to the lab and taking tests became my normal. In addition, taking a vacation day or two to study and to prepare for exams, the routine became a normal procedure all too often.

While earning my associate degree, life lessons were learned. As an example, my being enrolled in three courses and working full-time lead to stress overload. At the end of the Fall semester and after exams, the first symptoms appeared. I was certainly under the weather. Then, for two weeks, I was sicker than a dog.

Subsequently, vowing never to repeat a semester like the previous one, the Spring semester was limited to one course and only that one course.

Nevertheless, it is said, "Things happen for a reason." Being unemployed at the beginning of 1993, it's another story for another time. However, there was one more class to complete during the 1993 Spring semester. Saving the math class for last and having plenty of time to focus, my course was the center of attention, passing and excelling with a high A. Earning the associate degree that June, I didn't walk. Instead of walking, I had a fun trip to Houston, Texas touring the art museums there.

Another lesson learned during the journey was the necessity to say, "NO!"

Life happens! Purchasing my little red Honda in the Spring of 1994 for an employment gig, things didn't work out. (That's a nice way to avoid telling a very ugly story.)

Perhaps, it was for the best. At that point, I enrolled in a four-year college as a Business major.

Taking U.S. History at night, my car and I took a beating, commuting a little over 80 miles round trip. After a few semesters of that long commute, my move to temporary housing (a month at a hotel) and then an apartment closer to campus was a blessing.

While my courses at junior college were applicable, the courses didn't transfer to the School of Business. Realizing this, my meeting with the dean or assistant dean of Hospitality was a turning point.

At the January 1995 meeting, the dean said, "You don't need to start all over again. You need to get out of here! While we would like to see you in the School of Hospitality, you have two years of credits that should transfer and be applicable in the school of Community Service."

An hour after the School of Hospitality meeting, the School of Community Service was holding an introductory meeting. Honestly, it felt predestined. It definitely wasn't on my calendar. Thankfully, there wasn't anything conflicting or stopping me from attending the introductory meeting.

Changing to the School of Community Service, the decision was a no-brainer. With the U.S. History course completed the previous semester, I only needed 57 credit hours in order to graduate with a Bachelor's of Applied Arts and Science Degree.

Over the next two years, my full-time coursework and part-time gig at a Retail store kept me busy. In the School of Community Service, my courses comprised of a developmental in Sociology and Anthropology with an emphasis in Advertising.

Unfortunately, without a computer, the on-campus labs became a second home. Many times, closing at work, driving twenty miles to campus, walking to the computer lab, and pulling an all-nighter, my Anthropology and Sociology papers were typed and my Advertising assignments were completed.

Thankfully, I applied for graduation in early January 1997. After my apartment was broken into on the 4th of February, I was in a dark place for a couple of weeks because my possessions were stolen, feeling violated.

However, my focus remained, staying on course and completing my classes. Approximately a month before graduation, my invitations were mailed out. It was almost time to walk. Interestingly, the graduation celebration is referred to as "walking or walking the stage."

By Joshua Hoehne on Unsplash

In 1997, right before Mother's Day, the college graduation celebration was scheduled and held. It was the 10th of May. The weather was peacefully perfect, with my loved ones in attendance inside the Coliseum.

Finally, my day had arrived. After working full-time and part-time, completing courses at a junior college and at university, it was time to celebrate the end of my journey. With sleepless nights, blood, sweat, and tears behind me, I was ready. Once my name was announced, proudly, I walked across the stage.

With the exception of the days my children and grandchildren were born, it was one of the best days of my life. Lighting up the Coliseum with my smile, my eyes sparkled like Charles & Colvard diamonds. I walked! Walking the stage, it was my remarkable day to shine.

college

About the Creator

Babs Iverson

Barbara J Iversen, also known as Babs Iverson, lives in Texas and loves her grandkids to the moon and back. After writing one story, she found that writing has many benefits especially during a pandemic and a Texas-size Arctic Blast.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Babs IversonWritten by Babs Iverson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.