Education logo

Vegan activists, why do we care?

why do vegan activists care so much?

By Tania PangiaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Vegan activists, why do we care?
Photo by Külli Kittus on Unsplash

What are vegan activists exactly? and why do do they care so much about the animals? Well, Hi I'm a vegan and occasianlly do some online vegan activisim, allow me to answer both of these questions for you! A vegan activist can be anyone, your friend, neighbor, or even a co-worker, and there are several ways of doing vegan activism. The first is subtle and quiet, we could be out on the streets, or in the grocery store (possibly buying things like tofu or a vegan meat alternative) and wearing a shirt that has something to do with veganism, whether it says "vegan" directly or something like "friends not food" with pictures of a few different animals on it. The second type is a little louder and somewhat like me, although I have toned down on this form of activisim, where the activist himself, herself, or themself, could be posting pictures mocking meat eaters, and calling them names and telling them that if they're not vegan then they're animal abusers, I personally havent taken that method of activism but I have seen it, and I dont think it's particularly productive to helping someone see things from our point of view, or helping them to commit to a vegan life style. And the third type of activism is called "street activism" where people are much more in your face about this, with screens playing slaughter house footage, while they're blind folds, or approaching people in the streets and asking them why they're not vegan and why they're supporting animal abuse, using very hard and heavy words that envoke a reaction, words I will not use in this post for the fact of the weight behind them, and the emotion and quite honestly anger these words can cause, and this isn't that kind of article.

Now for the second questions "why do vegans care so much about the animals?" Great question, I'm glad you asked, we care because, well in my opinion it's got a lot to do with empathy, and compassion, because the fact of the matter is animals do feel pain, and sadness, and really every emotion that we, as humans, feel daily, and they live in tight, confined spaces, and in a very large majority, never even get to walk in the grass and feel the wind on their faces. Their whold life is just awful, then it ends in a way that, well to be fully honest, if you saw it, you'd cry, it would hurt you just to watch... I know this because I watched a very specific documentary, which full honesty here, I already know is not for everyone, because of how graphic it was, and I definitley understand not everyone can handle that, but if you also would like to watch that documentary, I would encourage it, but as I mentioned it's a very hard thing to see, it's called "dominion" and again it's not for everyone, so keep that in mind if you do choose to leave this article and go watch it.

I'm not sure which vegan activist you have met in the past whether in person or online, but I know a majority of you have a very specific person in mind, and I get it, I've seen their videos too, as I mentioned some vegan activists are more in your face, and others are more subtle, wearing shirts, having stickers on their reusable water bottle, carrying reusable shopping bags that have something referring to their veganism, or just posting videos or pictures of how, or what, he or she or even they are eating. Vegan activists are always available to help you learn, and encourage you on your own journey and there are several different types of vegans and vegan activists out there, I hope you find the one, or ones who inspire you the most!

movie reviewpop culturelist
Like

About the Creator

Tania Pangia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.