Education logo

Top 5 Tips for Beginner Resellers

Looking to make some extra money by selling items you no longer use? I’m here to help.

By Violet RoPublished 2 years ago 4 min read

When I first started selling a little over a year ago I was overwhelmed. I did not know where to start and I made a lot of mistakes. I’m hoping by sharing some of my knowledge I can help you to avoid some of my errors and help you achieve your financial goals.

I wasn’t aware when I first started of what I needed to get off the ground, So my first piece of advice is what you will actually need to get started.

Minimum Supplies to Start

The most important thing you will need before you start is a shipping scale. A regular household scale wont be as acurate, as you will need to know the exact weight in not only pounds but also ounces. Accurate shipping weight is important so that you don’t get charged a fee by the post office, more on this later.

Next you will need something to ship your items in. You can buy a bulk lot of Poly Mailers online from Amazon, but those may not work if you plan to sell bulky or fragile items. Consider what you plan to sell. USPS offers free Priority Mail Boxes BUT you can only use them with Priority Mail Labels, that was my first mistake. Not every platform offers Priority Shipping and usually there is a minimum weight for the labels, such as 2 pounds on Mercari.

Finally you should get some packaging supplies such as bubble wrap/gift paper and packaging tape. You will need to print labels, but if you do not own or have access to a printer most libraries will let you print for just a few cents per page. You should be able and to get everything you need for under $100.

Choosing Which Platform To Sell on

Before you make your first listing I reccomend researching different selling sites (Mercari, Facebook marketplace, EBay, Poshmark, etc.) and choosing just one to start with.

I have had the most success on Mercari and I find it the easiest platform to navigate but that’s a personal preference. If you are planing to only or mostly sell clothing you may be more interested in the platform Vinted, as they have lower shipping rates and you don’t have to pay a fee to the platform whereas most platforms take a percentage of your sale.

For items you aren’t sure of the value on you may be more interested in EBay, as they have an auction feature where you set your mini price and people bid on it for a set amount of time.

Choosing Your First Items to Sell

I always reccomend people start out selling things they already own, and things they know a fair amount about. If you aren’t sure if something will sell you can compare similar sold items. I primarily use Mercari and I find their platform the most straightforward about seeing what has sold. If you go into the search bar and type what you want, there is an option to sort by (Sold/For sale)

Pricing can be tricky. I would advise you to list an item for slightly more than your expect to get from it, to give you and potential buyers room to negotiate. Negotiating plays a big role in reselling. Mercari will show you how much profit you will make after Fees.

Making Your First Listing

So you’ve chosen your first item or items that you want to sell, now you want to make sure you take good photos and include an accurate description. If your item has flaws or add one be sure to show them in photos and describe them in the description.

Be very careful to weigh your item after it has been packaged or add the weight of the packaging to ensure you do not end up making the same mistake I made when I first started.

When I was just starting out I sold a doll for $10 that weighed slighlty under 1 pound. I printed the label, added it to my priority box and brought it to my local post office to drop off. When I handed the box to the lady at the desk she said I could not use a First Class Label with a Priority box. I was able to pay to upgrade my label, which isn’t always an option, update the tracking number and was able to ship the item. Unfortunately, the new label cost more than my profit, and I ended up paying for that sale. I primarily use Poly Mailers now.

After You Make Your First Sale

Every platform is differnet but with Mercari, Once you make your first sale you have 3 Buisness days to ship it. I always drop my packages off with a clerk so that I get a receipt and proof that I dropped off my item. Tracking will be available to both you and your buyer.

Once they receive it they have 3 days to either Rate your item, closing the sale, or open a claim. I have never had anyone open a claim but if they do, the platform will step in to help you resolve the issue with refund or return. This Is why description and item photos are so important, if the item is not as described they can return the item and be refunded or give low ratings. Ratings are just for the purpose of prospective buyers getting to view others’ experience of working with you (So remember to be friendly and professional in chat conversations!).

Once the buyer rates you, Mercari will release your funds for use in the app or withdrawal to your bank. You can withdrawal any amount but if it’s under $10 they charge a $2 service fee, so I reccomend waiting until your balance is above the threshold. You’ll have the option to cash out instantly for a fee or wait 3-5 Buisness days for your full amount.

One last Important note, save records of all your expenses! At the end of the uear you will have to claim all sales as income on your taxes. Any supplies, gas used to drop off packages, etc. can be written off at this time. It is advisable to talk with a tax representative as I am not qualified to give out any tax advice.

I hope this has helped you to feel confident in starting your new Buisness endeavor. Best of luck!

how to

About the Creator

Violet Ro

I enjoy writing about my own experiences and also enjoy experimenting with stepping out of my realm.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Violet RoWritten by Violet Ro

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.