Education logo

The Online Review Center That Helped Me Pass The Philippine Bar Exam

I realized, I didn’t review alone

By Olivia MarlenePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
The Online Review Center That Helped Me Pass The Philippine Bar Exam
Photo by Nick Morrison on Unsplash

Friends, this is not a paid review or endorsement. I'm not in any way connected to the review center. My only transaction with them is when I enrolled and when I gave my testimonial when I passed the bar.

In 2013, I have several reasons why I didn't take the regular face-to-face review which is the norm during my time. The top reason is I wanted to guard my confidence which I discussed in this story. Hence, I was so happy when I learned about Chan Robles Internet Bar Review.

Chan Robles Internet Bar Review is the pioneer in online bar review as far as I know during my time. I think they started in 2011 and I was on their 3rd batch in 2013. Enrolling with them was a breeze. I registered online, paid via bank deposit, sent the receipt to them, and they sent me my login details in one smooth transaction.

5 Things That I Love About Chan Robles Internet Bar Review

1. Affordable

The early bird rate of Php 7,200.00 that I paid in 2013 is only around 1/3 of what my friends paid in a traditional review center. And with that amount, I was able to access Chan Robles' online review portal for 9 months, from February-October 2013.

My review, therefore, cost me Php 800.00 per month or Php 27.00 per day only. Imagine, I was able to listen to the best bar reviewers for only Php 27.00 per day.

I think I should have titled this blog post "Pass the Bar for Php 27.00 per day" :). What do you think my friends?

2. Accessible 24/7

I can use their platform anytime and anywhere as long as I have my laptop and internet connection. I didn't try accessing their site using a cellphone during my time but now when I checked their website, they already have a mobile version. Another plus for me if I am to use their site once again.

3. They have the best lecturers and there are many lecturers to choose from

Each one of us has our own learning style and I had my share of favorite lecturers on my online review. I like those who are energetic and discuss topics in an informal manner, that is, they speak in a combination of Filipino and English.

My most favorite is a female prof who lectures as if we are in a classroom and she's like talking to me in person. She writes on a whiteboard while doing the lecture. It was so natural. I was able to grasp the difficult Taxation principles because of her.

Listening to bar lecturers online is like one-on-one coaching and mentoring. No distractions. Also, what's good is that I was able to go back as many times as I want to the parts of the lecture that I don't understand fully. I was free to hit the pause button when I'm not yet done with the important things that I'm taking note of. These, can't be done in a traditional review center.

4. I haven’t encountered any technical difficulty in accessing the recordings

After they gave me my login credentials, I haven't contacted them during the entire 6 months of accessing their site. My next communication with them is when I gave my unsolicited testimonial. Do you want to know my full name? Here is the link to the 2013 Passers. The 1st testimonial is from the 6th placer, the second one is from the 2nd placer, and my testimonial is next (the long one).

5. Reviewing online gave me so much savings in terms of money and time.

One of the reasons why I don't want to attend traditional reviews during my time is because of travel time from my place to Manila. It takes 2 hours one way. I presumed the time I get into the review center, for sure I'm already exhausted and my energy drained. So I can't imagine how I will properly absorb the lectures.

Staying in Manila during the duration of my review has never been my option because I'm prone to homesickness and I have 2 small boys that I wanted to see every day. I can't be away from my inspirations.

I saved money for not renting a condo or a boarding house for review. I saved money for not traveling every day going to the review center. I saved lunch and snack expenses.

But the best is I saved precious 4 hours of my time every day that I instead used to master the bar essentials.

Final Thoughts:

I realized I didn't review alone. I was coached, "one-on-one" and "on-demand" by the great bar reviewers of Chan Robles Internet Review. They were there 24/7 teaching and guiding me.

--

If you haven't subscribed to my "5-Minute Bar Exam Stories" please leave your emails HERE.

--

You may also like to know how having a bar exam "theme song" motivated me during my review. You can read my story:

product review
1

About the Creator

Olivia Marlene

Member of the Legal Profession * Saving and Investing Enthusiast *Blogger * Mom * Wife

You can follow me on Facebook and Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.