Education logo

You Too Can Pass The Bar Exam

Dedicated to Philippine Bar Exam reviewees

By Olivia MarlenePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
You Too Can Pass The Bar Exam
Photo by Tingey Injury Law Firm on Unsplash

I Finally Found You - My Future Panyeros and Panyeras

You may not believe me but ever since I passed the exam in 2014, I have been looking for ways to connect with you. I feel that I have so much to tell you. I wanted to share with you my unique bar exam review, my pains, challenges, and my success.

I tried blogging using Blogspot but I failed as I don't know SEO and other online protocols. Since 2014, my blog posts have been sitting as drafts. I even have forgotten that I named that blog "Diary of a Bar Reviewee (Passer).”

By some mysterious force, I found you while I'm writing my thoughts here on Vocal.media. You see, I kept on writing about interesting cases and about Intellectual Property even if I know that these are boring topics that only a few will read. I wrote them anyway, hoping that one day, it will reach you.

On 14 January 2021, my story "I Experimented On Myself Using "The Secret" was shared with you on a Facebook group. That story is my ultimate secret during the bar exam review.

After that, the laymanized version of Noli Eala case was shared.

I saw the reads on those two stories shoot up. And I said, after long years of finding ways to find you, I finally found you.

The Bar Review Setting Is Now Different, But I'm Sure You Will Conquer It

What made me say that? I am sure that it is doable because long before the term "Covid" was invented, I already isolated myself. What's happening to you now, I have done in 2013 by choice and not because of any outside circumstances.

I hope that you are doing well in your review. I pray that you have adjusted to the new normal. You can manage. You will survive. You too will be a lawyer!

My Review? I Was a Non-Conformist Bar Reviewee During My Time

I was unique. I didn't listen to what is popular. I defied the norms. I went through challenges. But I made it on my first try. So I'll tell you, whatever challenges you are facing now, you too can pass the bar!

How am I in 2013?

Below are 3 insights on my life as a bar reviewee:

1. A lot of people were betting on my failure

Why? Because I was not a graduate of a reputable law school. I was "bullied" and became a laughing stock because of my school. It hurts so much. But I kept my spirits high, I can't crumble down, no one can help me but myself. So deep inside, I answered all of them with this:

If you say I can't, watch me!

And, when the results of the Bar came out, they all got what they want.

2. More bitter stories? I was blackmailed while reviewing.

There was a number who kept on texting me that a case will be filed against me before the Ombudsman for some irregularities in the conduct of office. I don't know the intention of that person or maybe they are a group.

The incident made me think fast and strategize. He/she went on texting every day until he/she got tired. But whoever he or she is, or whoever they are, while they keep on thinking about how to bring me down, their energies which focused on me helped me become a lawyer.

And so sorry, I'm sure they were left on their seats wondering how the hell I manage to survive their curse.

3. I reviewed at home

The usual practice during bar review is to attend a review school in Manila. You know that. The rich kids rent a condo just to study. Some others simply board along with fellow bar reviewees. The rule is, you have to be in Manila.

I live in Cavite, just a stone's throw away from Manila, but I decided not to attend a review school. I only enrolled in an online review school and reviewed alone. Alone and on my own terms.

I will tell you more about this in the coming days. I will tell you about my review schedule and my strategies. I will tell you bar exam tips that you may have never heard. I will not tell you what to do, but I will tell you what I did. If you can pick up a thing or two, I will be happy and my mission would be accomplished.

My Ultimate Advice?

If there is one piece of advice that I can give you, this is it:

Guard your confidence. Your confidence will see you through.

That is what I protected the most. I didn't attend a review school because I guarded my confidence. I isolated myself because I was guarding my confidence.

The bar examination review is one big psychological war. Once you hear someone reciting cases you never read, your confidence dwindles. When you hear someone has already finished reviewing a subject, you get pressured and rush studying like a headless chicken. You buy all the books and reviewers everyone has.

The result is, you have all the books that you plan to master cover to cover, but you end up mastering only the covers.

Let’s talk about this more next time.

Bye For Now But See You Tomorrow

I can't tell you all the stories in one go. Let's connect. I will regularly send you 5-minute bar stories. It can be my tips and sharing of what I did during my review or digests of interesting cases.

So please drop your emails HERE.

courses
Like

About the Creator

Olivia Marlene

Member of the Legal Profession * Saving and Investing Enthusiast *Blogger * Mom * Wife

You can follow me on Facebook and Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.