Education logo

Teacher King’s English Speaking Lesson: Vegetables

Learn English the fun way!

By Kevin L. KingPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Teacher King’s English Speaking Lesson: Vegetables
Photo by Randy Fath on Unsplash

Learn the words

1. potato

2. cabbage

3. carrot

4. spinach

5. pumpkin

6. corn

7. broccoli

8. onion

9. asparagus

10. mushroom

Learn the phrasal verb : Be good for

Meaning: To benefit something or someone.

“My wife agrees that eating more vegetables would be good for all of us.”

Learn the verb : Eat

“We haven’t eaten broccoli for a while.”

eat: You need to eat more vegetables.

ate: I ate some asparagus for dinner last night.

eating: We’ll be eating pizza tonight.

eaten: The carrot is being eaten by the rabbit.

Read the conversation

Dad: I think we need to start eating healthier meals.

Mom: I think that’s a good idea. I can start cooking more vegetables.

Jay: That’s fine, but I don’t want to have mushrooms.

Dad: Are you sure? Mushrooms are very healthy.

Jay: Yes, I’m sure. I don’t like the taste. I’d rather eat spinach!

Mom: So, what’s your favorite vegetable?

Jay: I really like to eat pumpkin. Potatoes are yummy, too.

Dad: I heard broccoli is good for weight loss.

Mom: That’s true. We haven’t eaten it for a while.

Jay: I’m happy to have more broccoli.

Answer the questions

1. What does Dad want to start doing?

2. Which vegetable doesn’t Jay want?

3. Which vegetable haven’t they eaten for a while?

4. Is Jay happy to have more broccoli?

Fill in the blanks

Mom: So, ______ your favorite ______?

Jay: I ______ like to ______ pumpkin. Potatoes are ______, too.

Dad: And I ______ to eat broccoli. I ______ it’s good for ______ loss.

Mom: That’s ______. We ______ eaten broccoli ______ a while.

Read the talk

Eating more vegetables

I’ve asked the family to start eating healthier. My wife agrees that eating more vegetables would be good for all of us. Jay, my son, is not as happy, but he has agreed to try as long as he doesn’t have to eat mushrooms.

The reason I want to eat healthier is because I went running last weekend and was tired after only ten minutes. I used to be able to run for an hour, so I knew my body wasn’t fit enough.

My wife also complained that she no longer can wear the same clothes as she could a year ago. Last year, we were often eating more vegetables like carrots and cabbage with rice. This year, the only vegetables we’ve been eating often are potatoes or pumpkin. We’ve also been eating too much pasta.

And Jay really needs to eat less corn chips!

Answer the questions

1. Why does Dad think he isn’t fit enough?

2. What did Mom complain about?

3. Which vegetables were they often eating last year?

4. What have they been eating too much of?

Find six verbs in the talk

1. _________ 3. _________ 5. _________

2. _________ 4. _________ 6. _________

Take the test

1. Dad asked the family to eat ___.

a. more healthy

b. healthier

c. much healthy

2. They haven’t ___ broccoli for a while.

a. eat

b. eaten

c. been eaten

3. Which vegetable doesn’t Jay want to eat?

a. Mushroom.

b. Broccoli.

c. Corn.

4. Eating more vegetables will be good ___ their health.

a. for

b. at

c. of

5. “I went ___ last weekend and ___ tired after only ten minutes.”

a. run, was

b. running, is

c. running, was

6. Mom can ___ wear the same clothes as last year.

a. not longer

b. still

c. no longer

7. The family has been eating too ___ pasta.

a. little

b. many

c. much

8. Which vegetable wasn’t mentioned?

a. Corn.

b. Asparagus.

c. Carrots.

Begin a new English Lesson:

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: At the fruit market

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: Jobs

Answers

1. B 2. B 3. A 4. A 5. C 6. C 7. C 8. B

courses
1

About the Creator

Kevin L. King

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.