Education logo

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: The body

Learn English the fun way!

By Kevin L. KingPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: The body
Photo by Joakim Honkasalo on Unsplash

Learn the words

1. arm

2. toe

3. stomach

4. foot

5. shoulder

6. finger

7. head

8. hand

9. neck

10. leg

Learn the phrasal verb : Take part in

Meaning: To participate in an activity.

“I was taking part in a bike ride and had a fall.”

Learn the verb : Move

“Try slowly moving your neck to the left.”

move: Are you able to move your toes?

moved: I moved the chair to the bedroom.

moving: I haven’t been moving around much today.

moved: You should have moved the car to the garage.

Read the conversation

Doctor: Hi, Tom. What’s going on with you today?

Tom: I was taking part in a bike ride and had a fall.

Doctor: Let’s check your body. Where is it hurting?

Tom: My right arm is hurting a lot. Although, my leg is feeling better now.

Doctor: Okay. Can you move your fingers for me, please?

Tom: Yes, I can. I think my hand is fine. I was wearing gloves.

Doctor: I hope you wore a helmet, too. Did you?

Tom: Yes, I did. Luckily, because I hit my head really hard on the road.

Doctor: Try slowly moving your neck to the left. How does it feel?

Tom: It feels a little uncomfortable. I also have a headache.

Answer the questions

1. What was Tom taking part in this morning?

2. How is Tom’s arm feeling?

3. Which part of the body did the doctor ask Tom to move?

4. Why is it lucky that Tom was wearing a helmet?

Fill in the blanks

Doctor: Let’s ______ your ______. Where is it ______?

Tom: My ______ arm is hurting a lot. My ______ is feeling ______ now.

Doctor: Okay. Can you ______ your ______ for me, ______?

Tom: Yes, I ______. I think my hand is ______. I was ______ gloves.

Read the talk

Falling off my bike

This year, I joined a bike club. We have a lot of fun, and ride to different locations once a week. This morning, we rode up a mountain, which took just over two hours to get to the top. It was tiring and my legs were really sore.

On the way down, we were riding really fast. Unfortunately, I lost control of my bike as we were going round a bend, and I had an accident. My head hit the road. Even though I was wearing my helmet, I still have a headache.

When I stood up, I noticed my arm was hurting, and my neck was also quite sore when I moved it. My friend, John, suggested for me to see a doctor, so I did. The doctor put a bandage around my shoulder and gave me medicine for my head.

I’ll have to be more careful next time I take part in a bike ride.

Answer the questions

1. Where did the bike club go riding this morning?

2. How long did it take to ride to the top of the mountain?

3. Who suggested to see a doctor?

4. What did the doctor give Tom for his headache?

Find six verbs in the talk

1. _________ 3. _________ 5. _________

2. _________ 4. _________ 6. _________

Take the test

1. The bike club rides to a different location ___ a week.

a. one

b. once

c. twice

2. What part of Tom’s body did he hurt?

a. His arm.

b. His shoulder.

c. His hand.

3. The doctor asked Tom to ___ his fingers.

a. moving

b. move

c. moves

4. What part of Tom’s body wasn’t mentioned?

a. His shoulder.

b. His stomach.

c. His legs.

5. It took over two ___ to ride to the top of the mountain.

a. hours

b. hour

c. hourly

6. “It was ___ and my legs were really sore.”

a. tiring

b. tired

c. tire

7. The doctor gave Tom some medicine for his ___.

a. arm

b. head

c. neck

8. Tom will be more careful next time he takes part ___ a bike ride.

a. of

b. on

c. in

Begin a new English Lesson:

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: At the zoo

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: Shapes

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: In the classroom

Check out the book:

Teacher King's English Beginner Course

Preston Lee's Conversation English

Answers

1. B 2. A 3. B 4. B 5. A 6. A 7. B 8. C

courses
Like

About the Creator

Kevin L. King

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.