Education logo

Teacher King’s English Speaking Lesson: School subjects

Learn English the fun way!

By Kevin L. KingPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Teacher King’s English Speaking Lesson: School subjects
Photo by Green Chameleon on Unsplash

Learn the words

1. English

2. art

3. computer

4. math

5. social studies

6. science

7. geography

8. history

9. physical education (P.E.)

10. music

Learn the phrasal verb : Work on

Meaning: To spend time on preparing, completing or fixing something.

“I’m still working on the math quiz.”

Learn the verb : Finish

“I spent the whole morning finishing the math quiz.”

finish: You need to finish your English essay before dinner.

finished: I finished reading the book for social studies last night.

finishing: The computer class will be finishing in ten minutes.

finished: I can’t play today because I haven’t finished my homework.

Read the conversation

Mary: Hi Abby, have you finished the geography homework yet?

Abby: No, I haven’t even started it yet. I’m still working on the math quiz.

Mary: That quiz is really difficult. I think I got a lot of questions wrong.

Abby: The science project is due soon. I haven’t started that either.

Mary: I forgot about that! I’m going to cancel my English class today.

Abby: Good idea. I have a music class later that I can also cancel.

Mary: How about I come over and we can finish the homework together?

Abby: That’d be great, but my home’s noisy. My brother’s friends are here.

Mary: Let’s meet at the library instead. I must return a history book anyway.

Abby: Sounds good! We can meet after lunch.

Answer the questions

1. Which homework hasn’t Abby started yet?

2. What is Abby doing now?

3. What class will Mary cancel today?

4. Why can’t they do their homework at Abby’s house?

Which two sentences are not true?

1. Abby has already started the science project.

2. Abby’s brother’s friends are at her house now.

3. Mary will cancel her music class today.

4. They will meet at the library after lunch.

Read the talk

Too much homework

Usually I like Saturdays, but I have too much homework today. I spent the whole morning finishing the math quiz on the computer. Math isn’t my strongest subject, so I had a lot of problems with the questions. I think many of my answers are probably wrong.

I still have geography homework, and the science project is due on Monday. I haven’t started working on it yet. I should be able to finish it on time, but I’m worried about not completing the geography homework.

My friend, Mary, forgot about the science project, so she has a lot of work to do, too. We are both going to cancel our Saturday afternoon classes, so we can meet at the library to finish everything.

Answer the questions

1. Which subject isn’t Abby good at?

2. What homework is Abby worried about?

3. When is the science project due?

4. Where are they going to meet?

Complete the sentence using two words

1. Abby spent the whole morning finishing the _____ _____.

2. Mary forgot about the _____ _____.

3. They are both going to cancel their Saturday _____ _____.

Take the test

1. Abby hasn’t ___ the geography homework yet.

a. finishing

b. finish

c. finished

2. Abby is working ___ the math quiz.

a. in

b. on

c. for

3. Has Mary started the science project?

a. No, she didn’t.

b. Yes, she has

c. No, she hasn’t.

4. Abby is ___ about not being able to finish the geography homework.

a. worried

b. worries

c. worry

5. Mary ___ about the science project.

a. forget

b. forgets

c. forgot

6. The ___ project is due on Monday.

a. science

b. geography

c. math

7. Which school subject wasn’t mentioned?

a. math

b. history

c. art

8. They will meet at the library ___ lunch.

a. before

b. after

c. at

Begin a new English Lesson:

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: At the fruit market

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: Shapes

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: In the classroom

Check out the book:

Teacher King's English Beginner Course

Preston Lee's Conversation English

Answers

1. C 2. B 3. C 4. A 5. C 6. A 7. C 8. B

student
Like

About the Creator

Kevin L. King

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.