Education logo

Teacher King’s English Speaking Lesson: Feelings

Learn English the fun way!

By Kevin L. KingPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Teacher King’s English Speaking Lesson: Feelings
Photo by Carlos Arthur M.R on Unsplash

Learn the words

1. fine

2. angry

3. sad

4. happy

5. bored

6. excited

7. energetic

8. frustrated

9. tired

10. sick

Learn the phrasal verb : Give up

Meaning: To stop making an effort.

“I’m sure you’ll be fine if you don’t give up.”

Learn the verb : Feel

“I’m improving, but I’m also feeling tired.”

feel: I always feel tired after English class.

felt: She felt better after taking some medicine.

feeling: I didn’t go to work yesterday because I was feeling sick.

felt: I haven’t felt this excited in my life!

Read the conversation

Brad: Stan told me that you’re trying to get fitter. Is that true?

Jay: Yes, I am. I’ve been using the jump rope that he got for me.

Brad: How’s it going? Do you feel like you’re improving?

Jay: I’m improving, but I’m also feeling tired.

Brad: Is that because you’re not used to exercising every day?

Jay: Yes, I think so. I’m sure I’ll be more energetic when my body is stronger.

Brad: Don’t be too frustrated. You’ll be happy when you are healthy.

Jay: I hope so. I don’t want to get sick when I’m older.

Brad: I’m sure you’ll be fine if you don’t give up.

Jay: I won’t stop, even though I’m bored eating vegetables every day!

Answer the questions

1. Who wants to get fitter?

2. Why is Jay feeling tired?

3. What does Jay not want when he’s older?

4. How often does Jay eat vegetables?

Unscramble the words

1. trying / fitter / to / that / you’re / Stan / me / get / told

2. You’ll / healthy / are / when / you / happy / be

3. sick / older / when / to / get / I / want / I’m / don’t

4. be / fine / give / I’m / sure / up / you / don’t / you’ll / if

Read the talk

Being healthy

This year, my father asked my mom and I to start eating more vegetables. Dad thinks we are becoming an unhealthy family, and he’s not happy about it. I told him I’m fine with this as long as I don’t have to eat mushrooms.

This month, I’ve started exercising more, too. It’s difficult because I always feel tired. However, giving up is not an option, and I think I’ll be really angry with myself if I do.

My friend, Stan, gave me a jump rope for my birthday. Every morning before breakfast, I do one hundred jumps. Stan said doing this helps him a lot to stay fit and healthy.

I’m excited about being healthy in the future!

Answer the questions

1. Why did Jay’s father ask them to eat more vegetables?

2. How will Jay feel if he gives up?

3. Does Stan also use a jump rope to stay fit?

4. When does Jay use the jump rope that Stan gave him?

Noun, Adjective or Verb?

1. unhealthy

2. option

3. stay

4. rope

5. told

6. difficult

Take the test

1. Jay ___ tired when he exercises.

a. feel

b. feels

c. feeling

2. Jay is not ___ to exercising every day.

a. used

b. using

c. used

3. Jay feels ___ about eating vegetables every day.

a. happy

b. bored

c. excited

4. “I’m sure you’ll be fine if you don’t give ___.”

a. to

b. up

c. in

5. Dad isn’t ___ that the family is getting unhealthy.

a. happy

b. sad

c. fine

6. Jay will be angry with himself if he ___.

a. eats mushrooms

b. uses a jump rope

c. gives up exercising

7. Jay does ___ jumps using a jump rope before breakfast.

a. one thousand

b. one hundred

c. two hundred

8. Which feeling wasn’t mentioned?

a. Frustrated.

b. Sad.

c. Excited.

Begin a new English Lesson:

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: At the toy shop

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: School subjects

Check out the book:

Teacher King's English Beginner Course

Answers

1. B 2. A 3. B 4. B 5. A 6. C 7. B 8. B

student
Like

About the Creator

Kevin L. King

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.