Education logo

Teacher King’s English Speaking Lesson: At the toy shop

Learn English the fun way!

By Kevin L. KingPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Teacher King’s English Speaking Lesson: At the toy shop
Photo by Jonathan Cooper on Unsplash

Learn the words

1. car

2. jump rope

3. airplane

4. board game

5. dinosaur

6. toy blocks

7. doll

8. robot

9. teddy bear

10. ball

Learn the phrasal verb : Come over

Meaning: To visit someone’s place.

“Do you want to come over to my house and play with my new robot?”

Learn the verb : Want

“Jay told me he wants to be healthier.”

want: Mom wants to buy some toy blocks for my baby brother.

wanted: She wanted to get a red ball, but the store didn’t have any.

wanting: I’ve been wanting to tell you this for a long time.

wanted: I have wanted to buy a board game for about two years.

Read the conversation

Brad: Do you want to come over to my house and play with my new robot?

Stan: Sure, but I still haven’t got anything for Jay’s birthday.

Brad: The party is tomorrow. I still need to buy something, too.

Stan: We can go to the toy shop together. What do you think he’ll like?

Brad: I was thinking about getting him a model airplane.

Stan: He’ll love that. Jay really likes airplanes. Does he have a jump rope?

Brad: I’m not sure. I’ve only ever seen him bring a ball to school. Why?

Stan: Jay told me he wants to be healthier. I thought a jump rope might help.

Brad: That’s a good idea. What time do you want to meet?

Stan: I have to fix my sister’s doll first. I can meet you at 1:30 p.m. if you like.

Answer the questions

1. Have the boys gotten a gift for Jay yet?

2. When is Jay’s birthday party?

3. What was Brad thinking about getting Jay?

4. Why does Stan want to get Jay a jump rope?

Put the sentences in order

The boys need to buy a gift for Jay. (1)

Brad wants to get Jay a model airplane. ___

Stan has to finish fixing his sister’s doll. ___

Jay told Stan that he wants to be healthier. ___

Read the talk

Buying a birthday gift

Jay is our good friend and it’s his birthday tomorrow.

Brad and I decided to go to the toy shop together to buy a gift for him. Brad wanted to get him a model airplane, but there weren’t any left. He got a model car for Jay instead. I decided to get Jay a jump rope because he’s been wanting to get fit for a long time. Recently, his family started eating more vegetables and exercising more. I think he’ll appreciate a jump rope.

We enjoy playing board games, so I also bought one while we were at the toy shop. It’s a game about dinosaurs, and looks really fun. Jay and Brad are going to come over to my house and play it after the birthday party.

Answer the questions

1. Did Brad get Jay a model airplane?

2. What did Stan get for Jay?

3. Which board game did they buy?

4. When are they going to play the board game?

True, False or Not Given?

1. Brad got a model car for Jay.

2. Stan bought a board game about robots.

3. The toy shop didn’t have any teddy bears.

Take the test

1. Brad invited Stan ___ with his new robot.

a. play

b. to play

c. playing

2. What does Stan want to get for Jay?

a. A model airplane.

b. A board game.

c. A jump rope

3. They ___ to the toy shop together.

a. goes

b. went

c. been

4. Jay has been ___ to get fit for a long time.

a. wanted

b. wants

c. wanting

5. “Jay and Brad are going to come ___ to my house.”

a. on

b. in

c. over

6. There ___ any model airplanes left at the toy shop.

a. isn’t

b. wasn’t

c. weren’t

7. Did Stan get Jay a model car?

a. Yes, he did.

b. No, he didn’t.

c. No, he doesn’t.

8. Which toy wasn’t mentioned?

a. Toy blocks.

b. Dinosaur.

c. Ball.

Begin a new English Lesson:

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: At the fruit market

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: School subjects

Check out the book:

Teacher King's English Beginner Course

Answers

1. B 2. C 3. B 4. C 5. C 6. C 7. B 8. A

courses
Like

About the Creator

Kevin L. King

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.