Education logo

Tales of the Taino Gods by Osvaldo Garcia-Goyco

Hometown History in a Book Review!

By The Vibe Podcast Published about a year ago 3 min read
1
Prof. Osvaldo Garcia- Goyco

Professor Garcia- Goyco has a doctorate in Anthropology and Archeology from the Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain. He is also the Author of the book; Tales of the Taino Gods How the Caribbean Sea was born.

This is a wonderful beginner book for those of us seeking to learn more about our Taino Ancestors and their Spiritual beliefs.

I belong to a community with Indigenous ancestry, and we say that the Arawak Taino are still here!

Who are the Taino Arawak people?

The Arawak Nation are the Indigenous people of the Caribbean Islands and Greater Antilles. We are referred to as Taino because we are known to be good people.

My studies have shown the word "Taino" was a word used to describe my Ancestors.

I belong to a generation of people that my Ancestors predicted would come back on their behalf.

Two years ago, I was called to become my true and authentic self now two years later, I am proud of the person I have evolved to be.

Today I am a mother, I am an Author, I am a Podcaster.

I couldn't have accomplished any of this without an education.

I have since created the Taino Book Club on Facebook and the page has grown to 229 members! We are preparing for events!

Couldn't have accomplished any of this without studying so while the world was going through the madness that was Covid-19 I chose to study and decided on homeschooling myself.

I had no job, and I was tired of doing things according to society's standards because I lost myself in doing so.

It took two years to rediscover myself. While they laughed at me and called me crazy,

I continued to study.

While I was writing my very first book,

I continued to study.

I couldn't believe the atrocities I have witnessed since birth.

I have children so I decided to take my studies more seriously and we now live in peace.

Our book club has grown beautifully and through my continued studies, I eventually made a discovery!

In the book, Tales of the Taino Gods I found information on my hometown in Corozal, Puerto Rico! I had my very own Moana moment, I will never forget the moment I realized what my Ancestors were all about... they were all about Education! My great-grandfather, Hipolito Caldero donated land to the town of Palos Blancos en Corozal, Puerto Rico so that the children would have a place to learn. My mother received minimal education under a tree back home so it was a must that I educate myself. Now I cannot wait to help others and teach that if I can come out of dark times with grace, so can you!

Serpiente Emplumada, Kulkulkan, Petrogliph in Cibuco a ward of Corozal, Puerto Rico

This amazing find was in the very last page! Very important to read all pages of a book including the glossary because there may be a message just for you.

I cannot wait to travel back to home but right now the efforts are on catching up to a new normal here in the states and of course continuing our studies.

My Arawak ancestors mirror the Amazon Indians and Aztec culture as well, but my people are in the Caribbean!

Thats the beauty of this life and the ability to travel. Our Ancestors have been doing this for centuries, thus confirming my genetic beliefs that we are more alike than different.

I have gotten the opportunity to travel to Mexico and was intrigued to learn that we also share similar Ancestry.

I am only in the beginning of my Native studies, and I am absolutely loving this journey. Our history matters and must never be forgotten.

I was inspired to do a quick Wikipedia search on Kukulkan and will definitely be getting more books in the near future!

Give the Taino Book Club a follow-on Facebook! Events coming soon!

degreeteacherstudentcoursescollegebook reviews
1

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.