Education logo

Taino A Novel, by Jose Barreiro

The inspiration to our book club

By The Vibe Podcast Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
1

As we celebrate Native American Heritage Month, I’d like to share the book that inspired me to create our book club on Facebook. The Taino Book Club was created over one year ago when I began my spiritual journey upon the knowledge of my father’s murder.

I decided to study...

I bought many books on history, religion and culture.

I could not understand behavior in today’s society and I always knew I was different and finally 38 years later, I learned why I was different.

I am not different, I am actually authentic or Native. I am native to the Island of Puerto Rico. Actually my parents are as they were born and raised there, I was not.

I was born in Yonkers, New York but at the age of about 5 or 6, we moved to the Island.

I come from the countryside of Corozal, Puerto Rico and I absolutely love it.

We lived on the Island for quite a few years and eventually moved back to New York.

I did not speak English when we returned back to the states but my Mom put me in ESL ( English is a second language) and I am very thankful she did that because her child turned out to be a very well outspoken Author.

It took a lot of work to be where I am at today and more work needs to be done as we have many goals planned.

In the meantime I work and I study, I am happy to share what I have learned so far.

The inspiration to our book club is a very beautiful story.

The Taino book club was created during a very difficult time in my life. I was at my lowest point in life nearly two years ago.

However at my lowest point what I did was study. I bought the book, Taino a Novel. Written by, Jose Barreiro.

A beautiful story on the Colonization of our Island of Boriquen, now known as Puerto Rico.

This book is based on a true story and I love that it’s written journal style. Dates are so important to me and I love to imagine going back into our Ancestors times and how it must have been for them.

My Ancestors are Arawak/ Taino, natives of the Caribbean Islands.

I also study Native American culture and can tell you this.. our customs are similar and our history mirrors each other as well. Colonizers have stolen our lands and I will not stop writing until proper US History is taught in our schools.

For now, I study and I write but nearly two years ago I was suffering. I was mourning the loss of my father and I was beyond saddened in having to separate from toxic and abusive people.

I looked to my past and I have murder and suicide in my family. I looked to my children and I knew I had to make some very difficult decisions.

Nearly two later, I am very proud of my choices.

In the very beginning of my journey, I had to accept that I’d be doing this on my own.

I saged my home and asked God for the strength to continue on in my journey alone.

Eleven hours later as I scroll through my newsfeed on Facebook, I bumped into a Taino, Spirituality & Culture page.

I found the page interesting and as I scrolled through the page I saw a photo of a woman holding a book.

She was holding the very same book that I own! At that very moment I knew that I was not alone!

I have found like minded individuals and I am here to share that Arawak, Taino are still here! We have not been extinct as they have forced us to believe. In my studies I have also found proof of Ancestors in my hometown of Corozal, Puerto Rico!

Cibuco is a town of Corozal in Puerto Rico and in this town you will find petroglyphs left by our Ancestors.

Our Ancestors predicted a new generation coming back on their behalf and I am grateful to be part of this amazing piece of history.

The Taino Bookclub has grown to 140 members!

There’s a little more to our culture than JLO & Marc Anthony. If you are of Puerto Rican descent, I encourage you to get your DNA tested. For example 23andme genealogy test and discover your beautiful blend.

Our Ancestry includes a beautiful blend of Native Arawak Taino, African, Spaniard. Discovering myself has been a beautiful experience 🌺

book reviewsteacher
1

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.