Education logo

Surviving College

Tips on how to make it through

By Marissa HallPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Surviving College
Photo by Dan Dimmock on Unsplash

I graduated from college three years ago and sometimes I wonder how I made it. Especially now with Covid 19, college can tough to navigate. At times, college can be the happiest and freest place on earth. However, it can also be the loneliest place. And there are times when these two can intertwine and can change rapidly.

1) Choosing the right college can be tricky, but it can make or break the difference between having a good college experience and being miserable. Some colleges have a low graduation rate and that should be a key factor in determining if the college is a good fit. It can be intimating if the graduation rate is low, but there can be other factors. If the graduating rate is low, check the acceptance rate and the total number of students. That can be an indicator if the graduating rate is actually low or it is a tough school that provides good education, but a hard work ethic is required. Another part of choosing the right college is determining a major. For example, my major was psychology, but I was never good at sciences. When I toured a college, I paid attention to the school my major was located in. At one college, psychology was classified as a science and I would have to take a bunch of science classes. At another college, psychology was in the social sciences and the science classes I had to take were limited. I knew that I would not be happy if I chose the college where a bunch of science classes were required.

2. Tour the campus and find classes before the first day. Doing so will reduce stress and the worry to leave extra early. Plus, touring the campus can help you decide where to eat and what you want to avoid. For example, on my campus, there were two places that we could eat for only one meal ticket. Both were buffet-styles. One was located on the north end of campus, and the other one was on the south end. On the outside, both looked equal. However, without touring the campus I would not have known that the one on south campus had different hours and had more available options.

3. Find a quiet place on campus where you can study, not always your dorm room. Sometimes, dorms can be distracting, and roommates can be loud. Plus, if you are like me, I clean instead of studying. In my dorm, I found any excuse not to study. However, I did not have that option in the library. Even if the library is not your thing, try studying outside or at a coffee shop. A change in scenery is good.

4. Find what study habits work for you. Procrastination might have worked in high school. Believe me, I was the queen of procrastination. I was able to procrastinate a little in a college, but my grades suffered. As I moved up in my studies, the classes became more tedious and procrastination was no longer an option. This bad habit should be squashed right away. I used a lot of notecards when studying for exams. I also re-wrote my notes on a laptop to help with retention.

5. Go to events, especially your first year. This is a great way to meet people without the added pressure. Many schools have events, especially for freshmen. I will be the first to admit, that at first, I was not going to go because I thought it sounded lame. However, the first event I went to was a game night that consisted of outdoor games, such as tug of war, sand volleyball, frisbee golf, and an obstacle course. It honestly was the best decision I made, and I made some great friends that night.

6. Don't be afraid to just be roommates with your roommate. You don't have to be friends. The first year, everything is new and scary. You do not know anyone, and you might live with a stranger. It seems like you should be friends with them, then at least you have one friend. That was my mistake. I wanted to be friends with my roommate even though we would not be natural friends, we were forced together in a dorm room. When things went south, I was forced to find other friends, more natural friends. It sucked at first because I did not know anyone else. However, when I was forced to find new friends, I was able to find my best friend. Along with this, living with a friend can be tough. Make a careful decision about living with your friend, it can destroy the friendship.

7. Don't feel like you need to work just because everyone else has a job. I know that some students have to work to pay for tuition/rent. However, if you do not have to, I do not recommend it, especially the first year. The first year, everything is new and it's an adjustment from high school. Adding a job on top of everything can cause more stress that does not have to be there.

8. Budget your money. This tip is for students who work and those who do not. If you work, you need to keep a budget because things can get pretty pricey. While having a job can mean financial help, the way you spend money should be budgeted. If you do not work, buying things should be only for essentials. Living off your parent's credit card is nice, but just remember that it can be easily monitored. I am not telling you how to spend money but creating a budget can help you in college and once you graduate. Along with this do not be ashamed to buy cheap food. Do not feel the need to go out and eat for every meal.

9. Stay in contact with your professors. This is something I wish I did better because it really is useful. If you develop a good rapport with a professor (this usually happens in later years) keep it. That relationship can be useful when you go to get a job or need a recommendation to get into a class.

10. Actually read the syllabus. This might seem stupid, but it is a good way to be organized. It is also a good way to make sure the professor is following the curriculum. I had a professor try to change his grading system in the middle of the semester. However, several students had the syllabus ready to debate.

11. Get enough sleep. This is extremely important. College can be tough and can be mentally draining. Getting a good night's sleep (or even taking a short nap) is going to help.

12. Check out the University Bookstore. While the books might be expensive, they usually sell school supplies, clothes, and other things needed for college.

13. If you do not have time to hold down a job, but want experience, getting an internship is useful. Usually, the hours are reasonable (these "employers" are more likely to work around your school schedule). Plus, internships can improve your resume. Most employers understanding that holding a job while in college is challenging and internships are a good alternative. They should that you desired to learn new skills but were still dedicated to school.

14. Stay organized. This is helpful when it comes to your living situation and your studying habits. Having a specific place for everything will help you out in the long run. Plus, you are more likely to focus on studying when you have a clutter-free environment.

15. Schedule an appointment with an academic advisor. Now, I will be honest sometimes these meetings are pointless. However, the academic advisor is there to help you find appropriate classes for your major. They also should be willing to help you graduate on time.

college

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Marissa HallWritten by Marissa Hall

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.