Education logo

Stuck in my career.

Why I chose to go back to school for my PhD.

By Lisa Jacovsky Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Stuck in my career.
Photo by Scott Graham on Unsplash

I never wanted my Doctorate degree.

Growing up I was never that person who said they wanted to go for their PhD. It was engrained in me that I would go for my Bachelors, that I had no choice in. But I never wanted to go beyond undergrad school; I was always that person who said I am done with school after my Bachelors. I had gone straight to undergrad after HS and it was exhausting. I really thought I would be able to use my degree and start my career but that turned out to not be the case. It was not that I had a degree I could not use but that no one would give me the chance to gain experience. I wanted my career so badly I decided to go back for my master’s to hopefully gain some notice and break into my field. If you can’t do go back to school.

Then I thought my master’s would be it for me. It did get me into my field but then about three years into my career I felt completely stuck. I could not go move up or anywhere in the field beyond my current position and to me that just was not enough. I had to find a way to move forward in my career.

Deciding to look into Doctorate programs.

Looking into a doctorate program I felt was the best chance I had to move forward in my career. It was scary because It had been three years since I had finished my masters. I was not sure If I would get into any school or even do well if I did. I thought it does not hurt to see what the options are and go from there.

I thought to get into a PhD program you need a 4.0 in undergrad and your master’s program. I was a good student, but I was an A and B student, not straight A. I did graduate from my master’s program with a 3.6 GPA and was hopeful that maybe that and my work in the field would set me apart enough to be accepted into a program. In doing my research I was surprised that majority of the programs wanted a person with a 3.5 or higher. I even saw a few programs that would accept someone with a 3.0. This was shocking and encouraging to me; it made me hopeful I could get into a good school and maybe do well in it.

The next step: application.

To me this was a huge deal and at the time I wanted to stay in the field I was in, applied behavior analysis. It made sense to only get a PhD in that then. There are not many schools that have this in a PhD that was online. My alma mater masters program was starting their own PhD in ABA program in 2018 but this unbeknownst to me.

I ended up applying for only one school. I figured if I do not get in then this field is not for me and ill look into other PhD programs; it never occurred to me to research a second masters for some reason.

Being Accepted

When I got the phone call, I was accepted I yelled in the middle of the gym because I was working out. It was funny, but I did not care because I was that excited. It was probably good I was there because my adrenaline was through the roof from being so excited. Then I called my parents and text everyone I knew. It was a day ill never forget. Being in this school completely changed my career for the better. Applying for this program was the best decision I could have made. If I can do it anyone can do it .

degree
1

About the Creator

Lisa Jacovsky

Author of the award winning series Lets Talk! and podcast host of No Limits with lisa jacovsky

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.