Education logo

story about a time traveler who tries to alter a historical event.

Time traveler

By WizardPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
story about a time traveler who tries to alter a historical event.
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

.

As I stepped out of my time machine, the air around me felt thick and heavy with anticipation. I had travelled back in time to the year 1865, just a few days before one of the most pivotal moments in American history – the assassination of President Abraham Lincoln.

I had always been fascinated by history and the ways in which small events could lead to significant changes. And so, as a time traveler, I had decided to test the limits of my abilities by attempting to prevent the assassination and alter the course of history.

As I made my way through the crowded streets of Washington D.C., I couldn't help but feel a sense of unease. This was a dangerous mission, and one wrong move could have catastrophic consequences. But I had come too far to turn back now.

My plan was simple. I would track down John Wilkes Booth, the man who was planning to assassinate the President, and stop him before he could carry out his plan. It was a risky strategy, but I was confident that I could make it work.

I spent the next few days following Booth's movements, careful not to attract too much attention to myself. I learned that he was planning to strike at Ford's Theatre, where President Lincoln was scheduled to attend a play on the evening of April 14th.

On the day of the assassination, I positioned myself near the theatre, watching as the crowds gathered in anticipation. As the evening wore on, I spotted Booth making his way towards the building, and I knew that I had to act quickly.

I approached him and tried to reason with him, telling him about the terrible consequences that would result from his actions. But he was too far gone, too consumed by his hatred for the President and his desire for revenge.

In the end, I had no choice but to physically intervene. I tackled Booth to the ground, hoping to disarm him and prevent him from carrying out his plan. But it was too late – the damage had already been done.

As I watched President Lincoln's life slip away before my very eyes, I knew that I had failed. I had come so close to altering the course of history, but my efforts had been in vain.

In the end, I realized that no matter how much power I had as a time traveler, some things were simply out of my control. History would continue to unfold as it always had, and I could do nothing but bear witness to its endless, unforgiving march.





I stood there in shock and disbelief, watching as chaos erupted around me. People were screaming and crying, and I could hear the sound of sirens in the distance as the authorities rushed to the scene.

I knew that I had to get out of there before I was caught up in the commotion. I quickly retreated to my time machine and programmed it to take me back to my own time.

As I travelled back through time, my mind was filled with a sense of guilt and sadness. I had come so close to changing history, but my actions had ultimately led to the same tragic outcome.

When I arrived back in my own time, I was greeted by a flurry of activity. My fellow time travelers were gathered around, discussing the events that had transpired.

I told them about my mission and how I had failed to prevent the assassination of President Lincoln. They listened to my story with rapt attention, and I could tell that they were all deeply moved by the gravity of the situation.

One of my colleagues approached me and placed a hand on my shoulder. "Don't beat yourself up too much," she said. "We all have our own limitations, and sometimes there are events that are simply beyond our control."

I nodded, grateful for her words of wisdom. But deep down, I knew that I would never forget the feeling of helplessness that I had experienced that day.

As I walked away from my colleagues, I couldn't help but wonder what would have happened if I had succeeded in altering history. Would the world be a better place, or would it have led to even more chaos and destruction?

In the end, I knew that I could never know for sure. All I could do was continue to explore the mysteries of time travel, and to learn from my past failures in the hopes of making a better future.





book reviews
1

About the Creator

Wizard

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.