Education logo

Six More Tips for a Better Writer

Helpful tips and tricks

By Nathan J BonassinPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Writing books are essential - author's photo

I'm always looking for ways to improve my writing. More importantly, I want to help others improve their writing. I've written about some writing tips before. Here are 6 more to help you out.

If an idea isn't working, put it aside and come back to it when it makes sense. Don't force it.

Some ideas just come easier than others. If it is not working, it does not mean it is not a good idea it just may take more work to get the words down. Set it aside, give it some space, and time to breathe, then come back fresh and see how easy it comes out. I have had writing ideas I have had to come back to several times to get them to work or make sense. Sometimes, after sitting on an idea for months, I get a spark and go back to it suddenly making sense. 

Try different writing environments. Don't stick to the same coffee shop or office every day.

I have a few different places I like to write. My home office is great, but I'll take a lunch break at a coffee shop or bagel place. I love coffee shops, but depending on my mood, they can be distracting. I have found that each location provides a different feel and a different mix of creativity. I try to mix it up as much as I can and make it work for me. Sometimes even something as simple as switching tables or moving from the inside to the outside makes a huge difference.

Have conversations with people. Meet for coffee. Talk about life. Deep conversations can bring about great inspiration.

Get together with friends or mentors for conversations over coffee. You can pick a topic or just see where the caffeine takes you. Getting together for a safe conversation where any opinion is welcomed and not shot down, can help you develop ideas. As a writer, it is important to understand all sides of an argument, even if you don't agree with them. Chances are your characters will have different points of view, so it is a good idea to research all sides. 

Isolate yourself for writing. Get away from distractions.

This is one of my favorites. Get away. Find a quiet park bench or a clearing in the forest. Go on a hike that takes you to a destination and write when you get there. It doesn't have to be a novel, but just being in a different environment from your normal surroundings can help find that spot you need to be in for the words to present themselves. Writing out a few pages here and there is a helpful way to get all of the ideas out and start to develop them. 

Get outside of yourself, or go deeper inside yourself.

This one is hard to define. Sometimes writing as soon as you wake up, before the coffee is brewed, can be a powerful way to write. You're closer to the subconscious. You have to be able to clear your mind of all of the thoughts careening around your head and focus on the topic you want to write

Study writing. Read books on the subject.

Maybe this comes from studying writing in college, but I think that reading about writing is essential to writing. Learning a new sentence structure or writing methodology can only help you improve as a writer. Try to read the opposite of what you typically write. What I mean by that is if you're a fiction writer, read about non-fiction. If you tend to leave the editing up to somebody else, read about editing.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Nathan J Bonassin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.