Education logo

Playing The Collegiate Game

Loosely Inspired By And Submitted To The 'Love Unraveled' Challenge

By Marc OBrienPublished 4 months ago 3 min read

Exactly two weeks and one day ago, heart shaped sweets melted inside a glass container, atop the media center’s reference desk. I asked the hard-working ladies behind the table servicing the University library check out system, “what happened?”

“Krepsys,” they answered delightfully presenting an energetic attitude, “this time of year we like to heat things up, peacefully of course, show students things they may not know through reading and research.”

Hearing the explanation, no longer exhibiting any sweating from athletic activity, I picked up the wrapped morsel and proceeded into the elevator bank. As the lift opened, I stepped into the box, pressing the fourth-floor button. Feeling upward direction movement, I pondered, ‘soon the annual scheduled madness would begin’ and the team that I played for still had a chance to obtain a big dance invitation.

But this February 29th eve duties had nothing to do with scoring instead studying major subjects were the agenda items wanting addressed. An extra calendar day this year allowed me added time to get things done, proving I am turning into a responsible mature adult.

When the doors parted revealing all the academic published writing resources, I straightened my gym bag before invading the carpeted area. Sitting quietly at a desk my fellow sophomoric colleague Audimas had her nose in a text book, wearing her student designated work uniform.

“Krepsys,” she spoke up, “you had practice today?”

“Preparing for our big test in the conference tournament,” I clarified.

“And if you lose?”

“I will be back here, home,” my eyes caught hers in a certain way, “and,”

Shooting hoops was a love affair for me and during my youth the dedicated commitment built a foundation, showing me a work together goal achievement blue print, turning a game into a competitive metaphor, defining the word ‘success’. I will admit, the conference tournament did not end in the first outing, instead our contingent stayed the entire weekend. Having a haunting obsession where ‘missing something’ was declared the diagnosis, I calmly returned needing a comfortable secure campus lifestyle moment.

“Season is not over,” Audimas greeted me snacking on a machine quick fix product, “I hear.”

“Yes, we made the big dance and play on Thursday at noon,”

“Then you are coming back?”

I gave Audimas a quizzical look and history proved her prediction right, when before the library’s last call, I collapsed on my dorm room bed, curled up in a ball.

“Did you miss something?” A friendly inquiry interrupted my season ending rest.

Today I sit in my recliner, clicking the remote between the four different networks owned by the same company each showing a different collegiate game. Only seconds remained in this one contest, and I put down the electronic gadget observing a growing youngster ‘taking it to the house’ attempting a simple layup and unlike the driveway fantasy version this one did not enter the cylinder.

“Oh, no,” I commented seeing the other team celebrate, “it is time for him,”

“To go home,” Audimas appeared from the kitchen wiping her hands with a rag.

“He had a shining moment,” I replied, “and he,”

“Was missing something on campus?” Audimas paused, “kids are outside running bases.”

“I guess it is now spring so,”

“Yes,” Audimas agreed, “and it is time for them to play outdoors.”

Laughing a bit Audimas came over and sat in my lap, “Audimas you really know how to weave through and make your points.”

“Yes, Krepsys, I know how to get the basket I want,” she replied kissing my lips, reminding me who actually was the true winner in the life priority scheme.

college

About the Creator

Marc OBrien

Barry University graduate Marc O'Brien has returned to Florida after a 17 year author residency in Las Vegas. He will continue using fiction as a way to distribute information. Books include "The Final Fence: Sophomores In The Saddle"

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Marc OBrienWritten by Marc OBrien

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.