Education logo

New Ways

New Age...New Ways

By Kristin ParsleyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
New Ways
Photo by Ross Findon on Unsplash

This is new to me and with everything going on in this world it just made it harder to do the simple things.

I couldn't even do my job the way that I am used to. I teach children with autism and it's not easy doing this job with my students because I can't be there to actually help them. Doing this through a computer is not the way to teach them. They need one on one/ face to face interactions. Yes, I can see them and talk to them through the computer....but it's not the same thing. They are in their own environment and they have so man distractions in their own home. They also do not always have the most involved parents while they are doing online learning. So, this makes helping them with their work....just a little ore challenging.

I'm not complaining just realizing that things are changing and things are not going to go back the way they were and maybe the way they need to be for a while.

I have realized that I have to think of new ways to change the way that I help them....I've been doing this for 17 plus years and now I can't rely on things that I was comfortable with and things that have always worked. I have always been able to find ways to help them and assisting them in understanding the material and what I wanted them to learn....but now...it just changes the game plan.

I am wondering how the parents are feeling in all this most of the time...because I can see the frustrations in their children's eyes and know that we could be really teaching and making a difference for them in person....but just can't do that right now.

This year is also just a strain on me because I have a 1 year old son, who I am trying to get into the routine of my day and trying to make sure that he is also taken care of. Doing all this with him around isn't the norm and isn't all that easy. I feel sometimes that I am not giving him the attention that he needs and my students need.

Putting him in a daycare where he can learn and be taught things and have the social interactions that he can't get while he's at home with me, is the only way I can think of getting him the right kind of goodness for him.

---Also going through non stop emotional and mental issues with relationship and trying to move into an apartment.... I have just had too much changes than I can deal with sometimes...but I am trying to stay strong and just rely on my son and I to get through it. My work and my son is the norms that keep me happy and keep moving forward.

I've tried to think of ideas to get myself into and possible business plans...With hopes that they work and make a difference in someone' life.

Thanks

teacher
Like

About the Creator

Kristin Parsley

Hello--

I am someone who has worked with children with autism for about 20 years and have to use writing and drawing as a method of calming. I love to write and read stories. I want to express myself in writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.