Education logo

How to make your first Million - a realistic and proven approach - Part 1

PRELUDE

By Dave Karpinsky, PhD, MBAPublished 3 days ago 4 min read

My Story

The world is filled with misconceptions, especially about money. From a young age, we're bombarded with the notion that "money doesn't grow on trees." This belief, ingrained in us through traditional schooling and societal norms, suggests that the only path to financial security is through getting a job, buying a house, and working tirelessly until retirement at 67. But is that really the only way to achieve financial success? The answer, as you might have guessed, is a resounding no. Let's explore. But before we do, let’s take a step back.

I was born in Ukraine, a land rich in culture and history. Our journey to the United States started when I was nine years old. In search of a better life in a land of boundless possibilities, we had to leave the familiar faces and landscapes behind. Our first destination was the large city of Philadelphia, where we began to build our life from scratch. My parents were young in their late 20s. As we immigrated, my mom was also pregnant with my sister who was born 3 months after we landed in the USA. We came to this country without a word of English and my parents had $300. That marked the beginning of a new life.

So, I can tell you, I was not born with a silver spoon in my mouth and everything I made, I made on my own.

The world never seemed to stop as I was growing up. First, Philadelphia and its historical district, and then on to the sunny beaches of Port Charlotte in Florida. Not long after, it was the glitz and glamour of the Los Angeles area, only to settle back into the quiet suburbs around Detroit. Each city brought its own unique set of challenges and adventures—experiences that have developed me into the person I am today.

My life changed dramatically the minute I lost my dad at 18; it was such a sucker punch that made me grow up overnight. The following year, at 19, I discovered solace and strength in the midst of getting married. In the next 12 years, I was blessed with three wonderful children, who brought great joy to my life and the reason for every test in life. With the ups also came some downs as I also went through several marriages that ended in divorces.

I’ve held several jobs at the same time—maybe three to four—all together, to help my family pass through by the time I was pursuing my full-time education. From my Bachelor's to MBA and finally with a PhD, the journey was tough yet really rewarding. I took a career from technology into consultancy because of my passion for the former.

My professional journey has taken me to a land count of over 60 countries, giving me the privilege to speak seven languages fluently. Each of these destinations has added a new layer to my appreciation of the world, its many cultures, and its people.

At my age of over 50, I reminisce about life, which was full of trials and triumphs, and endless stories. So, where am I now? I’m in a happy place. I'm healthy, married. Of my three children, one daughter became a medical doctor. One is a nurse, and my son is about to graduate with a technology / IT Bachelors degree. I have 4 little dogs, a parrot. I have a flourishing career, own multiple homes, 8 cars including a Lamborghini. I have traveled extensively all over the world, including back to my country I was born, Ukraine, before war started.

Am I rich? That's all relative. My net worth is well north of $5 million. I am here to tell you how I made my money and I want to give you tools and examples how I did it. You will often hear people say, “You have to spend less money”. Well, no kidding. But if you have bills and don’t have any money left at the end of the paycheck, how are you going to spend less? Or you hear people tell you to start a YouTube channel and post viral videos. A year later with thousands of followers you are making a whopping $50 a month, barely enough for fast food these days. Or I see people on YouTube offering investment advice who seem to have just crawled out of their moms’ wombs. Really? REALLY??

Believe me, I’ve been there. I have been stuck in a rot. I’ve been laid off. I’ve been where I was living paycheck to paycheck. And I see it all around me. I see people struggling every day trying to make ends meet or having so many side hustles you wonder, what do they really do?

I will share how I did it. Choose and pick what you want to do. Maybe this will motivate and inspire you. Maybe this will give you fresh ideas. Maybe this will push you to do more. Just remember - anyone can do this. Anyone. But don’t sit there and pray that tomorrow will be better. Remember, you are in charge of you. Nothing will happen unless you make it happen.

So, let’s start our journey together in this multi part series. Our story continues to Part 2: Invest in Yourself (will be published in the next couple of days).

I’m new to this platform. If you are enjoying my stories, please follow me. I’m not doing this for money, but I am trying to reach whoever I can help and inspire. I genuinely mean that from the bottom of my heart.

Follow me:

Medium: https://davekarpinsky.medium.com/subscribe

Vocal: https://vocal.media/authors/dave-karpinsky-ph-d-mba

wall streethow tofeatureeconomycareerbusiness

About the Creator

Dave Karpinsky, PhD, MBA

A world traveler, educator, consultant, entrepreneur, husband and a father sharing his experience and wisdom. Join me as I weave my narrative, offering a window into a life lived fully and passionately. Please subscribe :-)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dave Karpinsky, PhD, MBAWritten by Dave Karpinsky, PhD, MBA

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.