Education logo

How I write Flash Fiction

The musings of a serial Flasher

By Dean HodsfryPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

Have you ever wanted to try your hand at flash fiction? Not sure where to start? Then this article might be just what you need. All the tips below are what I consider when I write.

So, what is flash fiction? Here is an Oxford Language meaning

Flash Fiction, noun

Fiction stories of a type that is characterized by being very short, typically consisting of only a few hundred words.

"I started a blog and began posting articles, short stories, and flash fiction"

So, there you have it Flash Fiction is categorised as being a short story. I class short stories as no more than 5000 words. Here is Reedsy’s take

  • Novella: 17,500 – 40,000 words
  • Novelette: 7,700 – 17,500 words
  • Short Story: Less than 7,500 words

I am not saying that Reedsy is wrong, this is just my take. If you google short story lengths, you will come up with a raft of different people saying different things. Confusing right?

Another type of flash fiction style is called Drabble which are stories that are exactly one hundred words. Let me tell you from personal experience writing a full story with such a restricted word count can be difficult unless you plan it out but rewarding if done well.

Here are some tips I suggest using to write flash fiction.

Tip 1: Mindset

You must be in a certain mindset to write flash fiction. In essence, you must forget about what you know as an author of novels and such. Such as enhanced description and lines of dialogue. It almost seems that you must dumb down the idea, you need to boil it down to the bare bones. Therefore, if you are facing writer’s block it is advised that you try your hand at flash fiction.

Take Hemmingway’s six-word story ‘For sale baby shoes never worn.’ This is an extreme version of flash fiction. What is not said speaks volumes, yet it tells you everything. It implies an infant death yet there is hope that another baby can benefit from this family’s tragedy. A very bold statement indeed.

Fun Fact: Apparently in the 1920s Hemmingway won a £10 bet against his fellow writers, who paid up without question I can only surmise that the challenge was who could write the shortest story.

Tip 2: Start in the middle of an action scene.

With such a short word count you would not be able to go into loads of descriptions or background. So, get started in an action scene. See this example. One of my stories titled Alexi the Fallen is about a succubus and how she meets a priest and how he destroys her. It had a word limit of 150 words and in this story, I start with the line - There I was laying on the bed sweat dripping off me pinned by some unseen force. I could feel my spirit being forcefully dragged out of my shell. (28 Words)

I start in the middle of a scene there is no backstory or where this story comes from, but it alludes to what is going to happen, and it sets the scene. It implies that there is or has been a battle and our protagonist is losing. I would lay some groundwork in a novel and answer the following questions.

  • Who is Alexi?
  • How did she get here?
  • What is she feeling?

I envisage that would be possibly an extra three hundred words just to answer these three questions well over the drabble limit.

Tip 3: Less than 3 characters

With a limited word count, you would not be able to get the thoughts from loads of characters. Try to imagine a scenario let’s say a pub brawl, how many people would wade in 5 or 6? Even with a 10-word description of each viewpoint that would be 60 words half your drabble count!

Take Alexi the Fallen above there are two characters Alexi the protagonist and the priest the antagonist. Some fields of thought advise having a protagonist, an Antagonist and an anchor character. This is difficult but not impossible maybe you could use some dialogue, but then you might as well write a script.

Tip 4: Forget the three D’s

Sadly, as a novel writer, you are advised to use the three D’s of writing Description, Dialogue and Details, when you write Flash fiction something has got to give for a drabble that equates to 33 words on each section, which is tough.

Tip 5: Use limited senses.

Hang on a minute, ‘When writing we need to engage all of the 5 senses!’ I hear you exclaim. Yes, this is true, for a novel or novella, but not for flash fiction. There is no room for manoeuvre let’s take a random scene where a character is walking through the forest.

A novel version

Aeris entered the forest, expecting the sounds of birds chirping, and deer munching away on bright red berry bushes. There was nothing, only the feel of damp leaves as he walked. Total silence which was unnerving. Then he had the scent and taste of an acrid metallic smell, which prompted him to draw his weapon. Had the clan been attacked, had they died? When he eventually got to the clearing, he saw bodies and limbs everywhere. He cried out, his family and clan mates all dead he would avenge them, but he did not know where to start. – 100 words it reads well, doesn’t it?

A Flash version

I entered my home shrub, there was silence and the distinct smell of blood hit me. I instantly thought of my family, they were all dead, everyone. This drives me on. – 31 words say the same as above but on a smaller scale. This is what you need in flash fiction.

Conclusion

So, there you have it my take on writing flash fiction. Although difficult writing flash fiction is very rewarding. It does not make you any less of a writer quite the contrary writing to a restricted word count takes skill.

Remember to start in the middle of a scene, use limited characters and forget about the three d’s of writing as well as not using all of the senses.

A challenge for you

Take my story Alexi the Fallen. Can you convert it into a drabble? (100 words)

Here is the full version:

There I was laying on the bed sweat dripping off me pinned by some unseen force. I could feel my spirit being forcefully dragged out of my shell. I liked this body the breasts were curvy, and my butt was peachy shall we say. Many men had succumbed to my wistful ways, the look on their faces as I tore away their vitality that was my nectar another soul for my father the blessing from him was my reward.

The pain seared through my body I can feel my spirit leaving. “Father please help me” too late the bond with that goddess-formed body was severed. I was just energy, I could see that man, and he was going to my next conquest. How did I know he was a priest? He sensed my vocation. He even seemed to enjoy my advances; he even gave as good as he got.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Dean Hodsfry

Dean is a writer of short ghost stories, flash fiction and has just completed a first draft of a epic fantasy novel called the Doomsday Saga: Shield of Virtue.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.