Education logo

How I learned to set boundaries for myself and others

#selflove #boundaries #selfreliance #selfcare

By sally jattaPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Like

The route to self-love can be a lengthy one, and it should be consistent because it is a lifelong journey.

As I would like to believe, the final year of high school is the most amazing moment in most students' lives, but it may have taught many as myself grief, and self-assurance, and led me to love and appreciate myself even more. As an introvert, I am more shy, quieter, and non-reactive in many situations and with individuals.

People walked all over me because they thought it was all right and that I would not complain, and they were correct, I would find myself crying and feeling sorry for myself for being treated so terribly rather than standing up for myself and being assertive.

This went on for a long time until I became tired of always being the victim; now when I look back on my high school days, I realize that the reason I was treated that way was because I allowed it. Everyone could sense a sense of low self-worth. I didn't think I was gorgeous enough, intellectual enough, cute enough, or likable enough; I just didn't think I was enough. All this came from my insecurities I guess. They saw what I saw in myself and that was my lack of confidence and boundaries.

I used to believe that the problem was that I am an introvert and that if I were more outgoing, expressive, witty, and loud, they would accept me. However, this was not the case, and the only reason was that I lacked limits, self-worth, and respect for myself.

One day while browsing the internet, I came across a blog post discussing boundaries and how people with boundaries are treated with a lot more respect. What piqued my interest was that boundaries were not something people were born with but learned and implemented. I love the fact the people set their own rules, which was something like “Hey I am not allowing that or I am not accepting that type of behavior from you or anyone else”.

The first day I used this method of making it clear to someone that I wouldn’t accept such type of behavior in class was when people started taking me a lot more seriously and I said these exact words when I was disrespected by my classmate in front of the whole entire class for speaking vernacular in instead of English, I stopped her right there and said: “I don't like being spoken to like that because that’s not how I speak to people, I can't appreciate that, please don't do it again”. Both I and she were taken aback because the old me would never have said anything like that, and I can see she never expected those words from me either.

My confidence rose that instant after saying those words, and from then on, I learned to speak up for myself and never let anyone disrespect or bully me for fun.

My confidence developed as I established better boundaries, as did my self-love, and I also realized that the only one who can determine my self-worth is only myself.

Along the process of setting boundaries, I began to surround myself with positive influences such as mentors, and friends, watching self-improvement YouTube channels, and resources that boosted and encouraged me on my journey. Their encouragement and support were crucial in increasing my self-esteem and equipping me with the tools I needed to face hurdles.

Looking back on my journey, I see that gaining confidence, self-love, and having boundaries is a continuous process. It takes dedication, self-reflection, and a willingness to take risks in order to understand oneself, what one likes, dislikes, and what one will not tolerate.

And with that being said thank you for reading.

how to
Like

About the Creator

sally jatta

Hi, my name is Sally. I enjoy writing about unique experiences I've had and stories of other people that resonate with me. so I decided to share my personal experience through this media. I hope you love my stories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.