Education logo

How I Cured Angular Cheilitis At Home

Here Are Simple Ways To Cure Angular Cheilitis At Home

By abdullahi bichiPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
Like

Hello, my name is Abdul. I have struggled with angular cheilitis on and off for several years. Angular cheilitis, also known as perleche, is a skin condition that affects the corners of the mouth. It’s characterized by redness, inflammation, and cracking, which can be painful and uncomfortable.

Over time, I’ve developed a few home remedies that have helped me to manage my angular cheilitis symptoms. In this article, I’ll be sharing how I cured angular cheilitis at home with you.

Here Is How I Cured Angular Cheilitis

The first thing I do when I notice that I have angular cheilitis is to keep the affected area as dry as possible. Moisture is a common cause of angular cheilitis, so I gently pat the area with a clean, dry cloth throughout the day. I also avoid licking my lips, as this can further contribute to moisture buildup.

Next, I apply a lip balm to the affected area. I look for a lip balm that contains ingredients like beeswax or lanolin, which can provide a protective barrier over the skin. I avoid lip balms that contain fragrances or other irritants that could further aggravate the condition.

Another home remedy that has worked for me is a honey and coconut oil mixture. Honey and coconut oil have antibacterial and anti-inflammatory properties, making them effective natural remedies for angular cheilitis. To use, I mix equal parts honey and coconut oil and apply a thin layer to the affected area. I leave it on for 15–20 minutes before rinsing it with warm water.

Aloe vera is another natural remedy I use to soothe and heal the affected area. I apply a thin layer of aloe vera gel to the affected area and leave it on for 10–15 minutes before rinsing off with warm water.

I also make sure to take a vitamin B supplement. A deficiency in vitamin B2 (riboflavin) has been linked to angular cheilitis, so taking a vitamin B supplement helped me to not only improve the condition but also cured my angular cheilitis. I also increase my intake of vitamin B-rich foods, such as milk, cheese, eggs, and leafy green vegetables.

Applying a warm compress to the affected area can also help to soothe inflammation and promote healing. I soak a clean cloth in warm water and apply it to the affected area for 10–15 minutes. I repeat several times a day as needed.

Another natural remedy that has worked for me is using a saltwater rinse. Saltwater has natural antibacterial properties and can help to reduce inflammation and promote healing.

Aside from that, I also mix a teaspoon of salt with a cup of warm water and swish it around in my mouth for 30 seconds before spitting it out. I repeat several times a day as needed.

Lastly, I avoid spicy or acidic foods, as they can further irritate the affected area. Instead, I stick to soft, bland foods that are easy to chew and swallow. I also try to stay hydrated by drinking plenty of water throughout the day.

What Are Other Ways Of Treating Angular Cheilitis?

While these home remedies have helped me to manage my angular cheilitis symptoms, it’s important to see a healthcare provider if the condition persists or becomes more severe. In some cases, prescription medications may be necessary to treat the underlying cause of the condition.

Furthermore, angular cheilitis can be a frustrating and uncomfortable condition to deal with. However, with a few simple home remedies, it’s possible to soothe and heal the affected area.

By keeping the affected area dry, applying a lip balm, using natural remedies like honey, coconut oil, and aloe vera, taking a vitamin B supplement, applying a warm compress, using a saltwater rinse, and avoiding spicy or acidic foods, I have been able to manage my angular cheilitis symptoms at home.

It’s important to remember that everyone’s experience with angular cheilitis is different, and what works for one person may not work for another. Therefore, it’s essential to experiment with diverse home remedies and find what works best for you.

Another important aspect of treating angular cheilitis at home is that it will help you maintain good oral hygiene. Brushing and flossing regularly can help prevent the gathering of bacteria that can contribute to angular cheilitis. I also use gentle toothpaste that doesn’t contain harsh ingredients that could irritate the affected area.

Alternatively, you can try this program that has helped thousands of people cure cheilitis forever.

Common causes include yeast infections, bacterial infections, nutritional deficiencies, and skin irritation from dentures or braces.

Plus, if you decide to follow the home treatment option, you must be patient and consistent with your home remedies for better results.

How Long Does It Take Angular Cheilitis To Heal?

Angular cheilitis can take time to heal. Thus, you must be careful with the affected area to avoid further irritation. By following a consistent home treatment plan and working with a healthcare provider, it’s possible to manage angular cheilitis symptoms and prevent future flare-ups.

Lastly, treating angular cheilitis at home requires a combination of strategies, including keeping the affected area dry, using natural remedies like honey, coconut oil, and aloe vera, taking a vitamin B supplement, maintaining good oral hygiene, addressing underlying causes of the condition, and being patient and consistent with treatment.

By incorporating these strategies into your daily routine, you can manage your angular cheilitis symptoms and enjoy a more comfortable, healthy smile.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.