Education logo

Get To Know Edmund Chong - Founder of HustleVenture

0 to 1.5 million impressions in under 1 year: From Personal Blog To Creating A Finance Media Company In Singapore At 26

By Edmund ChongPublished 11 days ago 4 min read
Like

If you've found your way here, chances are you're:

  1. Seeking inspiration😳
  2. curious about the ins and outs of running a business🧑🏻‍💼
  3. Are you interested in getting to know me🤓
  4. or simply keen on following my journey? 🛤️

If you don’t know me(Edmund Chong), here’s a quick summary about myself:

2021 - I enjoyed talking about stocks and investment. Then I decided:” Why not start a blog to share my experience and personal takes?” So I decided to create a newsletter business called HustleVenture.

2022 - Continue to invest, build my newsletter side hustle, and work a full-time job(Real Estate Analyst➡️Property Manager➡️Chief Real Estate Writer). During such time, I documented my journey learning multiple digital marketing skills such as SEO, video marketing, and social media marketing.

2023 - Breakthrough moment for HustleVenture, hitting 1.5 million impressions a year. I was able to quit my full-time job and focus 100% on the business. Main revenue consists of website traffic, lead magnet, video marketing service(scripting to editing), and social media management).

2024 - Now a team of 4 members, we strive to create unique and amazing financial content that excites you to check out our site every week!

My goal for the next three years before hitting 30 is just 3 things:

  1. Be a financially free millionaire
  2. Keep trying out new businesses
  3. Share my experience

That’s great! Then do consider subscribing to me for weekly content.

Why I Love Doing Business

I’m weird…

Throughout my entire life, I couldn’t imagine myself not trying out new things. From chasing my dream to intern overseas, to jumping off the plane, to trying out 3 different businesses (only HustleVenture survives).

Whether this is good or bad, for now, it has made me truly enjoy the beauty of life.

Now sure the 9-5 live has the ability to secure you financially(not thrive), it doesn’t allow me to live to my fullest potential.

I live business. This means marketing, running around meeting people, finding talent to work together, trying out new opportunities, and the sweet feeling of closing deals too!

Now I’ve made a lot of mistakes trying to run businesses throughout my 3 year journey as a Founder. And that may be why you are here, to learn from my mistakes.

What Are My Unique Skills

As a business owner, you are required to wear different hats to make your income. And I’m the guy who is lucky enough to try out many skills to add to my resume. I work as a:

  1. Writer (Scripting, SEO, Ghost)
  2. Producer/Directing (Pre-Production Planning, Production, Post-Production)
  3. Property Manager (Still offer exclusive service to manage and upkeep)
  4. Web Design (AI automation, UIUX, and landing pages)

How Much Money I Make

Business income varies greatly. But for now, we are happy that the business can consistently generate 5 figures a month in sales.

What’s Like Running a Business at 22

I’ll be honest, the first 2 years of HustleVenture, I made less than $10,000 in total. Not the best feeling… The income I made then came primarily from freelancing platforms and referrals.

Lesson learned

Avoid using freelancing platforms as a means to make money. Here are my reasons:

  1. You are competing against low-ballers (Forget about those 6-figure income dreams you see on YouTube unless you are willing to grind slowly for 5-star reviews.)
  2. Buyers are not there for the long-term partnership. You will consistently be hoping for the next income stream.
  3. Eat 10~20% of your earnings from platform fees etc.

What Worked

Start building a personal brand that people (these people must be your ideal clients) can relate to you. Here’s what worked for me:

  1. Create a newsletter business. You could simply create a personal branding on LinkedIn and share your expertise.
  2. Manage and maintain good relationships with your followers
  3. Share a common goal or dream. Mine was to get people interested in finance.
  4. Get audience first then convert them to clients by sharing small ticket items (e.g. E-book, services, consultation).
  5. Build the review from there. The rating is always almost 5-star because your audience/client has already known/heard about your work.
  6. Start scaling. Your ability to produce more high-quality work is kept by the amount of time you have. It’s time to bring in new talent.
  7. Hire people with the same goal. My productivity shot up 4x every since we offered video service to our business. It wasn’t just writing articles all day.
  8. Working on a niche it great. But riches are not in the niches. Get out of it once you find your pot of gold!

From Blog to Media Company: HustleVenture’s Services

Running a finance media company means being open to sharing as much information to our audience. If you are here and you want to know how much our services are or want to engage in us, feel free to contact me in the comment section

Achievements
Like

About the Creator

Edmund Chong

I quit my 9 to 5 job at 24 and now spend 24/7 as a business owner

Want to know more about the life of a business owner and the ugly truth of the harsh reality that is completely opposite of what mainstream media paint it as? Then follow me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.