Education logo

Every Book I had to read in my UX Design Master's Program

Looking for some UX books that won't be on any other list? Look no further.

By Ariana V.S.Published 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Every Book I had to read in my UX Design Master's Program
Photo by Tamara Gak on Unsplash

I am a current student in the Human Factors and Ergonomics Master's program at San José State University in San Jose, California (Go Spartans!) I think that there are many approaches to the UX field. The approach that I fell into is the formal education route, which may be different from the way that you have arrived.

If you're someone who has carved your way into User Experience Design through boot camps, trial and error, and/or mentorship, then you might consider studying these books to bolster your background knowledge on human psychology, ergonomics, and interactions in order to build yourself up as a more effective designer - Meanwhile, I'll be working the other way around by trying to get experience after my degree! There is certainly no one path to success and this holds true here, for sure.

1. UX Magic by Daniel Rosenberg

UX Magic is a crash course into creating information architecture and prototyping. As someone who has read and practiced what he teaches, I can affirm that the methods shown are effective at:

  • Defining the information architecture based on User Needs
  • Parsing User Needs
  • Creating GOOD Personas that inform your decisions
  • Defining the User Experience by designing the flow of interactions
  • and MORE...

If you would like to see an introduction to the method that the book teaches, you can read the Author's article on Medium about his book here.

You can also sign up for courses that he teaches here.

2. Designing with the Mind in Mind: Simple Guide to Understanding User Interface Design Guidelines by Jeff Johnson (Third Edition)

This is another great UX Book that focuses on concrete suggestions on User Interface Design, backed by psychology and human behavior.

Jeff Johnson does a great job of condensing the most important aspects of User Interface design into this handbook that I truly believe every UX/UI Designer needs on their bookshelf as the cornerstone of their practice.

If I were forced to recommend only one book from this list to a brand new, fresh into the field UX designer, then it would have to be this one. At only about 270 pages, this book is a rollercoaster of suggestions, best practices, justifications, and lessons that are totally worth the price!

3. Interviewing Users: How to Uncover Compelling Insights by Steve Portigal

Even as a UX Designer, a portion of our work can bleed into research. While a dedicated research team is fantastic (and should exist) if you're not working for a UX forward company, a research team may be small or understaffed and designers may be asked to pull double duty. Knowing how to conduct an evaluation or interview can put you above the rest when it comes to your next dream position!

That's where Interviewing Users come in. Gathering user requirements is a key element to re-designing or designing any interface or product. Having key insights into what real users are identifying as pain points and difficulties in legacy applications, a competitor's application, or your company's current prototype is essential.

If you'd like to learn more about how to ask the right questions to get the best answers - this book is for you.

3. Designing for People: An Introduction to Human Factors Engineering by John D. Lee, Christopher D. Wickens, Yili Liu, and Linda Ng Boyle

This textbook could probably stop the bullet of an upset client coming back for revenge. Clocking in at 604 pages of content with a 50 pages bibliography referencing all the amazing insights and wisdom that this book has to offer - you know you are in for the long haul.

If I am being completely honest, I skimmed a good portion of this book during the semester (with a timeline of only 6 weeks while struggling through other classes) it was just not doable. However, if you're reading this on your time, at your own pace, I would definitely recommend taking notes and really soaking in the information. While being able to design is the mainstay of our work, being able to justify your decisions to key stakeholders and managers is also crucial.

If you want to learn everything you need to know about how human beings perceive information through sight, sound, and touch, and then how human beings process that information and what we do with it - this is the textbook for you. Strap in and get ready for a marathon of a read!

4. Engineering Psychology and Human Performance by Christopher D.Wickens, Justin G. Hollands, Simon Banbury, and Raja Parasuraman (Fourth Edition)

If I were forced to put a book last on my recommendations (although this book is number 4 on the list, I will explain why later) it would have to be this one. I think that if you were going into research and testing, then this book is something I would recommend highly, but as a designer, the book was far too dense and far too detailed.

If you want to get into the nitty-gritty of attention, cognition, and perception, then this book is for you! Despite my less-than-glowing recommendation, this textbook is definitely still on my bookshelf for reference, and I am definitely going to read through the book and really enjoy it...someday!

5. Writing Ethnographic Fieldnotes by Robert M. Emerson, Rachel I. Fretz, and Linda L. Shae (Second Edition)

AND

6. Designing and Conducting Ethnographic Research: An Introduction by Margaret D. LeCompte and Jean J. Schensul (Second Edition)

Number 5 and 6 were books I read in my Ethnography class (which was an elective as I had time and credits to kill). I am including them on my list not only because they were required, but also because they served a very special purpose for me coming into my Master's program.

As someone who had come fresh from a BA in Graphic Design, as I had, quite literally, graduated from my BA and then started my MS the following semester, I had very little knowledge about research, heuristic evaluations, and working with subjects.

These two books for the basis for interviewing users, parsing trends from data, and creating insights and documentation that are so crucial for a well-versed UXer. I would read these books hand in hand with Interviewing Users by Steve Portigal (Number 3 on this list). While that book is definitely more tailored for designers getting into the field, these two books form a more comprehensive basis, covering both the theory and practice in an approachable and digestible way - true to UX fashion.

Final Thoughts

It can be tough enough balancing a job with hobbies, family, and a huge reading list. For the thicker textbooks, I would definitely recommend trying to get through only a few pages a day to really ensure that you're internalizing and enjoying learning more about the field. Best of luck to you getting through your reading list that just got a little longer!

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

Ariana V.S.

I’m a master's student at San José State University studying Human Factors & Ergonomics.

For any questions, comments, or if you feel like chatting - reach out to me at [email protected].

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jake Norton6 months ago

    I have read many books on this topic. I also did research. But since I lacked data, I could not finish my coursework. Thanks to the site https://essays.io I found the service and ordered my assignment there. I’m glad that I found assistants who helped me pass my coursework on time.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.