Education logo

ESL Teaching: Being a Teacher In Korea vs Japan

Teaching In Asia

By HeetaPublished 2 months ago 4 min read
2

If you prefer listening or watching instead of reading, please click the link above!

Disclaimer:

My experience with ESL teaching has been in South Korea and Japan. So do keep in mind this list is not the end-all-be-all for all ESL demonstrations (if any), in the world!

Find the topics below and more in the playlist here

Interview Questions Part I

Interview Questions Part II

Questions You Should Ask

10 Prepping (Preparation) Tips

10 Card Games

1. Too Many Jobs

From what I have experienced, having too many jobs in Korea (a grand total of three teaching jobs) was never a negative against me. In contrast, having four teaching jobs at this point (three in Korea and one in Japan), makes quite a few interviewers curious as to why I have had so many jobs. For Korea, it just made financial sense amongst other things. For Japan, I'm starting at level one and I want to move to a bigger city and a slightly better salary.

Now, due to the nature of the contractual work (usually 12 months), the completion of a contract should be enough to make you seem like a good enough employee. But I still found Japan to be a tougher nut to crack.

2. Interviewer Demographic

For a complete ninety-nine percent, all my interviewers in Korea were Korean (and one American) interviewers. In contrast, in Japan, ninety percent of my interviewers in Japan are foreigners (with the exception of three Japanese people who lived outside of Japan). Long story short, this brings a subtle level of differences in what topics I'm more open with with my interviewers. For example, I tend to crack more jokes with fellow North Americans. But being more open about my interest (or lack thereof) in the Japanese or Korean entertainment industry.

3. Commuting to work

My current work in Japan requires me to commute a minimum of thirty minutes and a maximum of 2 hours, a one-way trip. And it literally hits the two-hour mark for fifteen out of the twenty work days in the month. In contrast, in Korea, my longest commute was 15 minutes for the first two years, and five minutes for the last year. Now, I can't say this is true for the entire of Japan (I don't know), but it does seem common enough.

4. Visa Flexibility

In Korea, I had to renew my visa every thirteen months depending on whether I had a job or not. In contrast, in Japan, I got the visa because of the job but am not dependent on the job to able to keep the visa, and thus be able to stay in the country.

5. Perfect English

The focus in Korea is to get students to speak perfectly. I have not felt that pressure in Japan from any higher-ups. Having said that, I have encountered far more English nazis (soft) in Japan within my co-staff. Ironically, the worst one (head teacher) was back in Korea and I'm so glad to be rid of him. Though he was the only one I encountered in Korea.

6. Contractual Responsibilities

Contracts in Korea are longer than in Japan, and therefore far more clear on responsbilities. So if I signed up to help during special events, it falls under the vague responsibility of coming early on the day of the event (even if it's just to sit around and do nothing). But if I didn't sign up to clean the classroom then I'm not expected to be mopping or vaccuming the floors. In Japan, or rather my current job, it's expected without me having agreed to it, contractually.

7. Employers scolding employees

I have encountered enough of this in Korea. Not personally, just by being present in the vicinity. Have yet to see something of that intense nature in Japan.

8. Frequency of seeing your students

From what I gathered, you see your students once a week for an hour. In contrast, in Korea, you see your students 2-3 times a week for an average of 180 minutes per week.

9. Lesson Time

In Japan, the one-hour mark seems quite common. In Korea, you'll see 30 mins (for kindergarteners), 60 mins or 90 mins (for older kids). I don't think, I have taught students more than 90 mins in Korea ever. But I could be wrong.

10. Technology

Korea is quite a bit more efficient and flexible when it comes to using technology in the classroom. For example, gone are the days of CDs and DVDs in the classroom. It's all on the internet. We're supposed to keep our phones with us in the classroom (not allowed in many schools I interviewed for), because communication happens via text rather than phone calls. Imagine making group calls instead of one common group chat. Plus, the text method is cost-effective. None of the schools I worked for, had a good ole telephone in any classroom. Powerpoint games were another common tool we could use.

travelteacherlisthow to
2

About the Creator

Heeta

Books are a passion. Fashion is a hobby. Sociology is my accomplishment. And thus, I bring you, a little bit of this, and a little bit of that. #Unedited #Freestyle #Wordvomit

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    I'm drawn to this article; it's well-crafted and offers valuable information.

  • Susan Fourtané2 months ago

    Interesting. I taught ESL long ago before I changed my career. I taught in several countries and different levels from junior and high school to business and in-company executives, and even Members of the Parliament in Finland which was quite interesting. Teaching in different countries is a great opportunity to closely observe and learn from different cultures. In turn, this opens your understanding of the world. I personally liked --I still do-- adopting things that I enjoyed from each country, things that resonate with my own personality and likes.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.