Education logo

Edu...huh??

Why college and higher education wasn't right for me

By Crissy CornwellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4
Edu...huh??
Photo by Vasily Koloda on Unsplash

When I was in elementary school (grades k-5), I actually didn't mind school. I certainly wasn't a fan of having to go sit in a classroom all day, but I enjoyed seeing my friends and I loved most of my teachers. Middle school came around (grades 6-8) and as the work got harder, my interest in doing that work became less and less. Now, doing homework and taking notes definitely was not my strong suit but I could pass a test with flying colors without the studying because I just remembered the information from classes. High School hit (grades 9-12) and I couldn't stand being in school anymore. I loved my friends and the teachers, but I hated the work, especially math. Graduating from high school was one of the biggest achievements of my life but I knew I didn't want to go to college right away, or maybe ever.

I was offered a job as a nanny that I really wanted to take, but my mom hit me with an ultimatum and told me that if I wanted to have this job, I needed to also go to college. I failed my first semester and lost my nanny job because I couldn't handle all of it at once. I still tried a second semester but changed my major and did a little bit better, but I still did not do well and failed again. I knew college was not for me, I knew I would rather be working and building my life, my way. After failing my second semester, I was put on academic suspension and I chose not to go back when my suspension had lifted because I was not interested in college in the slightest and I didn't have an ultimatum hanging over my head this time. I had to have a job the whole time because I had bills I had to pay for and I threw myself into my work more and more. I worked so much that friends stopped inviting me to do things because they knew I would either be working or sleeping for work the next day.

I had been hired at McDonald's a few days after the new owners took over that store. I never thought I would take a fast food job so seriously, but I actually really liked working there. After about 5 months, I had become a shift manager, something I was very proud of and ended up working even harder in this new position. I got to the point where I was working about 60 hour weeks, not because I needed more money outside of my regular paycheck, but because I truly loved what I was doing and the owners were promising me the moon if I kept working hard. I had gone to classes that were needed for management, I watched training videos at home between shifts. I came in early, stayed late and rarely took a day off. It wasn't until the spot for GM was given to someone younger than me and that hadn't been there as long as I had. They promised me the next GM opening, which happened to be at their other store location, so I accepted the offer, headed down to the other store and worked with the current GM that I was supposed to be taking over for. When it was time for the new GM to be appointed, they gave the position to someone I had trained myself; at that point I knew I couldn't continue working there.

After these events, I did go back to McDonald's numerous times and ended up being there on and off for 8 years of my life. It wasn't until I moved to Texas and back that I made it my goal to never go back into fast food if I could avoid it at all. I did, however, try to go back to school a few times. After my academic suspension, my financial aid was suspended as well, so I would have to pay for college out of pocket, and as someone living paycheck to paycheck, I certainly wouldn't be doing that, so I put off college again. I worked numerous jobs in management positions and still hadn't found what I wanted to do fully. Eventually, in 2018, I had tried to go to college with all online classes, and I was doing well for a while. When my marriage fell apart and I spiraled into depression, that is when I new for sure that college wasn't on my list of priorities and I dropped out for the final time.

I know now that I do not want to try again, but I do have a lot of interests, so I am finding courses I can take here and there to feed those interests and help me gai knowledge in various areas. First and foremost, I am taking a class in creative writing, though I feel I am a fairly decent writer as is, I want to be better. I have been writing for as long as I can remember and, though I have definitely grown in my writing, I still have room to improve and I plan on doing so.

college
4

About the Creator

Crissy Cornwell

Single mom, writer, singer, cat lady

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.