Education logo

Day Five: "What Writing"

Movie theatre, cigar, and arrow.

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a month ago 3 min read
2
Day Five: "What Writing"
Photo by Tanner Ross on Unsplash

I began this challenge when I received Pat Pattison's book in the mail. I was introduced by KJ Aartila, to this challenge. Her inspiration is Pat Pattison's book "SONG-WRITING WITHOUT BOUNDARIES".

The picture above is for the 10-minute timed writing. When I typed in the movie theatre, cigar, and arrow, I caught the one above for my ten-minute story.

By the end of the challenges from the book, I hope to be writing songs, or be more of a lyricist! Well, I can dream that happens. I will work on it!

Starting on Day six we will be working on "Who" writing. It is good to make small changes to keep you from getting too bored if you read all of these!

Remember that the timer can go off in the middle of a sentence, or word. Please complete it the best you can! Thank you.

This is day five prompts:

Timed for 5 minutes: Movie theatre.

We were just at the movie theatre on Sunday! A great day for a movie. The grandson was going with but his parents got here before it was time to attend the movie. So Hubby and I went to a different movie at a different movie theatre.

They didn't have the nice cushy seats but we did enjoy the movie. Hubby tried the buttered popcorn from the theatre. It always smells so good!

I had a smoothie. Strawberry banana - my favorite!

It was too sweet for me. Not the same sweetness as I make at home. So I didn't drink it all.

Hubby ate all of his delicious smelling popcorn and his freezie. Or some such thing! I am not sure what it is called anymore as I never have one. It is the favorite of the grandchildren!

Timed for 10 minutes: Cigar.

When I was pregnant my father-in-law would come for a visit. He was a handsome older man with black hair and dark brown eyes. He had darker skin than I did and identified himself as French Canadian.

He had a sparkle in his eye and was so pleased that he had a grandchild on the way. He was a really good grandpa. Not such a good dad.

He would often stay with us for a few days and then be on his way. The only problem with his visiting was that he smoked a cigar. A cherry smelling cigar. It made me feel sick to my stomach. It was in the days when people could smoke anywhere and he would smoke in our house.

I remember that I used to like the smell of cherry tobacco! I didn't seem to have any other things making me ill during my pregnancy but cherry pipe tobacco from my father-in-laws cigar sure did make me sick!

Could I ask him to smoke something else or could I ask that he not smoke during his visit? Could I simply explain how ill I would get after the smell of what used to be my very favorite cigar? Is that laying it on too thick? I have never tasted one.

Just thinking about that makes me queasy! My body is tensing and ready to throw up. It is a good idea we are not in the car or I would have to stop and throw up with the combination of motion, the smell and the thought of the cigar in my mouth!

Stop! I'm feeling sick just remem................

Timed for 90 seconds: Arrow.

He ran as straight as an arrow right onto the target range. What was he thinking?

As arrows flew he ran. He was lucky to be missed.

Whoosh, and another whoosh! Arrows continued by him while I held my breath until he was safe!

~~~~~~~~

Note: KJ Aartila's Day 5 writing challenge!

product reviewteacherstudenthow tocourses
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    I don't like strawberries but I loveeeeee bananas smoothies! What's a freezie? Is it something like a slushie? Loved all your stories!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.