Education logo

Boredom

Every Decision Counts

By Ada ZubaPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Boredom
Photo by Alesia Kazantceva on Unsplash

Our lives are filled with fleeting moments. Something small happens and it leads to many events that lead us to where we are now. For me, that moment was boredom. When one is bored we tend to check the fridge every twenty minutes hoping something new has magically appeared. We tend to research a topic that interests us or we find something to keep us busy. I had the pleasure of working in the office, where I picked up the phone once a day and that was it. That was my whole job. I survived by ordering skip the dishes every day, which led me to gain about 10 pounds in a week. I had to buy new pants because they did not fit into the pair of jeans I owned. Suddenly, I became depressed, which led me to eat about four meals a day with little to no exercise, which is a large part of why I felt down in the dumps. I did this job for seven months and I decided to do the unthinkable which was going back to school. I am a person that did not particularly enjoy going to school or classes. Most of the time I would not even listen to the teacher, but here I was sitting at my computer desk with the hairs on the back of my neck standing up and my heart pounding in my chest about applying to school. With each click of my mouse, I could feel something which I have not felt in a long time and that was exciting. I pulled out my credit card and punched in the numbers on the keyboard. I could not believe it, I had applied to go back to school once more. I sat there in my chair dumbfounded. Did I hate my job that much? I wanted to torture myself with studying and tests and group projects and presentations simply because I was bored at work. I simply could not take it anymore, I could sit there contributing nothing to the company I worked for, I needed a purpose to live and to love the job I have. That night I sat down with my parents and decided to tell them that I was going back to school. When I told them that I applied to become a unit clerk neither of them were excited about it, but I decided to pursue it anyway. A week later, sure enough, I got my letter of acceptance. I moved forward with the application and it was official I was going back to school. I was so excited to quit my job, I told my manager seven weeks in advance, which then led her to give me the cold shoulder for a month and a half. I did not care that much though, I came into work with a hop in my step and I had started to learn medical terms. I was still working two jobs and life became easier, it felt like a weight had been lifted off my shoulders. I started to go to school and I was excited to see my classmates and to learn new things. I was doing very well in all my courses, I ended up graduating with a near-perfect GPA, which I had never achieved in my lifetime. I graduated and neither of my parents wanted to go, so I did not end up going to my graduation ceremony. My friends missed me, shocked that I did not want to go. I just shrugged and carried on, I applied to nearly 215 jobs within one company. Sadly, I did not get an interview until a year later. But, it finally happened, I got my foot in the door. I started by screening patients and visitors during the pandemic. The job was fun as I worked with a variety of people and it led me to have the job I have today. I made a connection with someone and immediately she said “I will get you a job” She took me to her unit, introduced me to the unit manager and I had an interview. I was trained on six shifts without doing a practicum and like that, I was on my own. Now, I look forward to going to work. Not a lot of people can say that, everyone dreads and complains about going to work. I do too, because it still is work, but the number of days that I look forward to coming to work makes my job worthwhile.

college
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.